Databases at UD
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of more than 8,000 journals covering all subject areas. - American National Biography This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative source of American biographical information.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new windowBiography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) is an index to a large number of current and retrospective biographical compilations. By searching BGMI you can determine which publication to consult for biographical information. The total number of biographical sketches indexed by BGMI is now more than 17 million.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies of persons from antiquity to the present, drawn from approximately 100 H. W. Wilson Co. print references, including the 58 volumes of Current Biography Yearbooks, 1940 to the present, and the 14 volumes of World Author Series, as well as other sources. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains millions of full-text, authoritative articles from hundreds of reference books covering all major academic areas. It is an excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic and will help to focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowAn illustrated collection of biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. The biographies—of artists, scientists, writers, industrialists, performers, explorers, criminals, and eccentrics as well as politicians, church leaders, and soldiers, mariners, doctors, and lawyers—are written by experts and provide up-to-date scholarship but are also concise and readable. There are no entries for living persons.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowIncludes a People Search form in the Subject Areas section of LexisNexis Academic.
- Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new windowAccess to a number of genealogical and historical resources, including images of the decennial U.S. census from 1790-1930.
- Digital Bibliography of Delaware This link opens in a new windowAn illustrated collection of biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. The biographies—of artists, scientists, writers, industrialists, performers, explorers, criminals, and eccentrics as well as politicians, church leaders, and soldiers, mariners, doctors, and lawyers—are written by experts and provide up-to-date scholarship but are also concise and readable. There are no entries for living persons.
- Foundation Directory - Professional This link opens in a new windowProvides information on U.S. grantmakers and their grants. The database has full-text search capability across more than 250,000 990s. Also has news, RFPs, job openings, publications, key staff affiliations, and other grants data, including grant distribution charts.
- Literature Online Complete This link opens in a new windowIncludes biographical information on literary authors.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LRC combines biographical, bibliographical and contextual information to provide information on authors and their works. - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes biographical information about musicians.
- Pivot-RP This link opens in a new windowBiographical information on academic researchers in the United States.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowThe “Members & Committees” section provides biographical and other information on members of Congress.
- Congressional Biographical DirectorySearch for members of Congress past and present.
- Dictionary of Canadian Biography OnlineIncludes Canadians who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years.