Research Guides: Biotechnology: Articles / Databases

Biology and Chemistry Databases

These databases list articles, book chapters, and patents in the biological, medical, and chemical sciences.

AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports. (Coverage: 1970 --)
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Adds citation indexing to BIOSIS content and is a thorough reference database for life sciences. Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological and medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Traditional areas such as botany, zoology, microbiology, as well as related fields like biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology, ecology are covered. Interdisciplinary fields like medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, biotechnology are also included. (Coverage: 1926 --)
A subset database within Web of Science.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Among the Biological Sciences Set databases are the following: ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts, Bioengineering Abstracts, and Medical & Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Abstracts
Includes specialized, editorially-curated AandI resources providing access to an extensive variety of cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature. Updated daily. (4 concurrent users).
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you must register and provide your UD email.
Comprehensive database for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, and chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.
Databases included: CAplus (Chemical Abstracts), REGISTRY, CASREACT (chemical reactions database), CHEMCATS (commercially available chemical information), CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information), and MEDLINE (biomedical literature worldwide).
Coverage:
- CAplus: 1907 to date, plus over 44,000 records for journal articles dated before 1907
- MEDLINE: 1950 to date
- REGISTRY: 1957 to date, plus many substances dating back to 1907
- CASREACT: 1840 to date
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Database of laboratory research protocols, written by experts in the field, with a set of personal and community features.

Engineering, Business and Patent Databases

These databases list articles, book chapters, and patents in the physical sciences and engineering, as well as business.

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of business and financial journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, investment reports, directory listings and newswire releases, as well as indexing of national newspapers.
Excellent source of information on management theories, business law, key industries, mergers, acquisitions and joint ventures, international trade, new technologies, small and emerging companies, marketing and advertising, job-hunting strategies, and banking.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
Vendor Lyrasis. Publisher LexisNexis.

Multidisciplinary Databases of Interest

Multidisciplinary databases cover numerous subjects, including biotechnology and related fields.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of more than 8,000 journals covering many disciplines. Most of the journals are full text. This is an excellent database for searching for professional publications in addition to scholarly sources.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large database covering all academic fields and cross-disciplinary areas. Provides links to and from cited references within published articles.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
A database listing dissertations published at U.S. universities and some foreign institutions. Most of the dissertations are not available in full text.
Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware This link opens in a new window
This is a sub-set of the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. It includes University of Delaware dissertations and theses in full text from 1941 to the present.
Includes:
- All University of Delaware dissertations: full text from 1948 to present.
- University of Delaware Master’s theses: full text from 1980 to the present. NOTE: Most UD master’s theses are not available in this database. This is NOT a complete collection of UD master’s theses.
- Winterthur Program in Early American Culture theses: full text 1970s to fall 2009
- Longwood Graduate Program in Public Horticulture theses: full text 2006 to present
Use the library catalog, DELCAT, to search for all print or microform copies of master’s theses 1980 – 2009 that are NOT available in Dissertations and Theses @ University of Delaware. For dissertations and theses from 2007 and later, it is possible, using Advanced Search, to limit by academic department.