Finding Articles about PR
Library databases can help you find articles about PR topics that you will explore in COMM 309.
Database Search Tips:
- Enter your search terms on the advanced search screen to allow for maximum control of your search.
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to keep adjacent to one another such as "public relations."
- Combine your search terms with the connecting words "AND," "OR," and "NOT."
- Use OR to designate synonymous or interchangeable words that are acceptable in your search results. Put terms connected by OR in parentheses if you type them on one single line.
Example 1: communication AND “public relations”
Example 2: “public relations” AND (career OR job OR employment)
- The advanced search screen allows you make specifications such as requiring that your search terms appear in the title of the document or the abstract of the article. This will help you obtain a smaller and more relevant list of search results.
- In most cases, the advanced search screen also allows you to select whether or not the search results must be scholarly or peer-reviewed and if the results must be published within a specific date range.
Suggested Databases:
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global offers business and financial information for researchers at all levels. Coverage includes business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world’s top management and marketing journals. Areas of coverage include all disciplines of business—marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. - EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EconLit is the American Economic Association’s electronic bibliography of economics literature throughout the world. - IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new windowIBISWorld Industry Reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance. IBISWorld Industry Reports also provides 5 year forecasts, as well as forward-looking Risk Rating Reports to help determine overall short-term financial risk for each U.S. industry.
- Roper iPOLL This link opens in a new windowiPoll provides public opinion data from The Roper Center and is the largest archive of U.S public opinion information. iPOLL is a comprehensive database of questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935.
- Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new windowMarketScope Advisor provides access to extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, up-to-date news and data on a broad range of asset classes. It includes Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys, as well as Stock and Fund Reports (S&P Equity Research).
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new windowMergent Online is a comprehensive and authoritative suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. Mergent includes U.S. and international company data for public and private companies. Industry reports, economic, and investment data are also provided.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides access to relevant and quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.
Example 1:
Search Results:
Example 2:
Search Results:
