Jewish History Resources
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) (available via DELCAT)
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally, including the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and the subsequent influx of Jewish immigrants to the U.S.. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
The American Hebrew (1879-1902)
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1903-1922)
The American Hebrew (1922-1922)
-
American Jewish Year BookUpdates on world Jewish news with country listings. Essays, statistics, obituaries, etc. for the year.
-
Annotated Bibliography and Guide to Archival Resources on the History of Jewish Women in AmericaCompiled by Phyllis Holman Weisbard.
-
From Haven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in AmericaFrom Haven to Home is a Library of Congress exhibition marking 350 years of Jewish life in America. The exhibition features more than two hundred treasures of American Judaica from the collections of the Library of Congress, augmented by a selection of important loans from other cooperating cultural institutions.
-
Jewish-American History and Culture
by
Call Number: E184 .J5 J48 1992ISBN: 9780824066222Publication Date: 1992-01-01A one volume reference work presenting a panorama of the Jewish experience in America: religious institutions, communal organizations, secular activities, cultural contributions, and noted individuals.
-
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
A variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Offers insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over 3 centuries. (Coverage: c1654-1954)
-
Jewish Women's ArchiveThe Jewish Women’s Archive (JWA) is dedicated to expanding and transforming the historical narrative by restoring Jewish women and gender-expansive people to their rightful place.
-
Palestine Statehood Committee Records, 1939-1949 This link opens in a new window
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, scrapbooks and clippings of five committees active in the U.S. from 1939-1949, and whose goals included the creation of an independent Jewish army to fight the Axis powers, the rescue and repatriation of European Jews in Palestine, and the re-establishment of a Jewish nation in an independent Palestine. (Coverage: 1939-1949)
-
The Southern IsraeliteRabbi H. Cerf Straus established the Southern Israelite as a temple bulletin in Augusta in 1925. The publication was so popular, he expanded it into a monthly newspaper. Later in the decade, Straus sold the paper to Herman Dessauer and Sara B. Simmons, who moved the paper to Atlanta, where it began circulating state-wide and eventually throughout the South.
In 1987, the paper changed its name from the Southern Israelite to the Atlanta Jewish Times and guaranteed at least thirty-two page issues moving forward. The paper is today owned by Jewish Renaissance Media and continues as a weekly publication with a readership of over 25,000.
The Southern Israelite database is a project of the Digital Library of Georgia. Digitization is made possible by the Cuba Archives of The Breman Museum and the generosity of the Srochi family of Atlanta. -
The Weitzman National Museum of American Jewish HistoryThe Weitzman National Museum of American Jewish History, on Independence Mall in Philadelphia, presents educational programs and experiences that preserve, explore, and celebrate the history of Jews in America. Its purpose is to connect Jews more closely to their heritage and to inspire in people of all backgrounds a greater appreciation for the diversity of the American Jewish experience and the freedoms to which Americans aspire.
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) (available via DELCAT)
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally, including the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and the subsequent influx of Jewish immigrants to the U.S.. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
The American Hebrew (1879-1902)
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1903-1922)
The American Hebrew (1922-1922)
-
Center for Jewish HistoryCenter for Jewish History and partner collections span five thousand years, with tens of millions of archival documents (in dozens of languages and alphabet systems), more than 500,000 volumes, as well as thousands of artworks, textiles, ritual objects, recordings, films, and photographs.
-
Hazor ExcavationsTel Hazor is the largest and one of the most important Canaanite sites in Israel, encompassing an area of over 80 ha. In the second millennium BCE the city was comprised of an upper city (the acropolis) and a lower city. Ancient records show that the city was considered the southern-most Syrian urban center during the Bronze Age. The name of the city appears in kings lists of Thutmose III, Amenhotep II, and Seti I as well as in Papyrus Anastasi I, among others. It is the only city mentioned in the Mari archive of the Middle Bronze Age and considered a “great power” in the Amarna archive of the Late Bronze Age. It is also mentioned several times in the Hebrew Bible.
-
Historical Jewish PressThe Jewish press in its many and varied languages is first and foremost a source of information on the history and culture of world Jewry and on the countries of Jews' residence in the modern era.
This website's initiators, Tel Aviv University and the National Library of Israel, encourage additional partners and contributors — be they academic, public, or private groups or individuals — to join in this project, with the goal of expanding our collection and establishing within it distinctive departments organized by language and locality.
-
International Medieval Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa in the period 400-1500 (Coverage: 1967 --)
-
Internet Jewish History SourcebookA subset of texts derived from three other online Sourcebooks (Internet Ancient History Sourcebook, Internet Medieval Sourcebook, and Internet Modern History Sourcebook) along with added texts and Web site indicators. All are maintained by Paul Halsall, Fordham University.
-
Jewish History (journal)Jewish History is the sole English-language publication devoted exclusively to historical research on the Jews. It also aims to extend the disciplinary boundaries of Jewish historical writing by encouraging scholars of anthropology, art, law, literature, and sociology to share their research when it crosses paths with history.
-
Jewish Women's ArchiveThe Jewish Women’s Archive (JWA) is dedicated to expanding and transforming the historical narrative by restoring Jewish women and gender-expansive people to their rightful place.
-
Judaic StudiesPart of the Virtual Religion Index maintained by the Department of Religion at Rutgers University.
-
The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land
by
Call Number: DS111 .A2 N488 1993ISBN: 9780132762885Publication Date: 2015-03-01A handsome compilation of 365 articles by 205 archaeologists on excavations and explorations. Some of the sites are well known to laypeople (e.g., Masada, Petra), but many are familiar only to specialists. Church and synagogue libraries, large public libraries, and academic libraries will find this an invaluable reference,---Booklist.1552 pages total, four hardcovers. Carta Jerusalem.
-
Palestine Statehood Committee Records, 1939-1949 This link opens in a new window
Correspondence, memoranda, reports, publications, advertisements, scrapbooks and clippings of five committees active in the U.S. from 1939-1949, and whose goals included the creation of an independent Jewish army to fight the Axis powers, the rescue and repatriation of European Jews in Palestine, and the re-establishment of a Jewish nation in an independent Palestine. (Coverage: 1939-1949)
-
Posen Library of Jewish Culture and CivilizationThe Posen Library of Jewish Culture and Civilization makes texts and images from 3,000 years of Jewish history available online and via print. The print volumes will be digitized over time, and the online sources cover half of the full collection, from ancient Israel to 2005. Requires an account. There are also 3 curated collections online: gender roles, Passover, and Holocaust resistance.
-
Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the post war refugee crisis in Europe as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. (Coverage: 1945-1950.)
-
The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern EuropeThis unprecedented reference work systematically represents the history and culture of Eastern European Jews from their first settlement in the region to the present day. More than 1,800 alphabetical entries encompass a vast range of topics, including religion, folklore, politics, art, music, theater, language and literature, places, organizations, intellectual movements, and important figures. The two-volume set also features more than 1,000 illustrations and 55 maps. With original and up-to-date contributions from an international team of 450 distinguished scholars, the Encyclopedia covers the region between Germany and the Ural Mountains, from which more than 2.5 million Jews emigrated to the United States between 1870 and 1920. Even today the majority of Jewish immigrants to North America arrive from Eastern Europe. Engaging, wide-ranging, and authoritative, this work is a rich and essential reference for readers with interests in Jewish studies and Eastern European history and culture. (Also available in print in the Morris Library.)