Reference Book Databases
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
An extensive online library of full-text content from leading publishers and societies. Covers engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences, and more.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, & other reference books. Includes full text of reference books, like Manufacturing Engineering Handbook; 3D A-to-Z: An Encyclopedic Dictionary; Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms
Finding Books
DELCAT - the Library Catalog
Start with the DELCAT single search box (see above) to find books, journals and media held by the University of Delaware Library as well as material held by other libraries worldwide. You can then manipulate your results by using facets such as format, subject, author, or date.
Advanced Searching in DELCAT
In the Advanced Search interface, you have more options in combining your search terms and in limiting your search to specific fields (Title, Author, Subject, etc.). Searching by subject can be very helpful to focus the results. Look at the subject headings listed in your results to find applicable terms to use in subsequent searches.
For more information about how to locate a book in the library using a call number, please see How To Read A Call Number.
A few selected titles
Concepts of Materials Science by Call Number: eBook (Knovel)ISBN: 9780192846839Publication Date: 2021Provides an expert perspective and a unique insight into the essence of the science of materials, introducing the reader to ten fundamental concepts underpinning the subject. It is suitable for undergraduate and pre-university students of physics, chemistry and mathematics.
Things Fall Together by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780691170336Publication Date: 2021Provides an insider's perspective on the materials revolution that lies ahead, revealing the spectacular possibilities for designing active materials that can self-assemble, collaborate, and one day even evolve and design on their own.
Characterization of Materials by Call Number: eBook (Wiley)ISBN: 0471266965Publication Date: 2003Provides comprehensive coverage of materials characterization techniques including computational and theoretical methods, crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy, and more.
