Recommended databases
Databases organize, or index, information on many journals and the articles published within those journals. Databases can be the most efficient way to search for research on a topic.
- Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world.
- SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new windowSpringerMaterials is a research platform dedicated to information on materials, their properties and uses.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you must register and provide your UD email.
Comprehensive database for chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records, and chemical substances and reactions. You can search by topic, author, and substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. - SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research. Includes papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging,
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
Collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information, including journals, research reports, selected technical papers, manuals and more. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering. (Coverage: Standards: 1998 --)
Multidisciplinary databases cover a wide range of academic subjects including the arts, health care, business, literature, law, sciences, and more from journals, newspapers, magazines, ebooks, and reports. These databases can be useful because you can find a huge number of articles about your topic allowing you to narrow down your keywords even further.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Knovel This link opens in a new window
An extensive online library of full-text content from leading publishers and societies. Covers engineering, chemistry, biochemistry, earth and environmental sciences, and more.
- Computer Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The full-text of many articles is available. (Coverage: 1980 --)
Find business news, industry and market information
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowIn-depth market research reports covering the technology, science, & healthcare sectors.
After clicking link:
1 - Click on the "Member Login" button in the top, right-hand corner of the screen
2 - Select the "IP AUTHENTICATE" option in the bottom, right-hand corner of the pop-up box - Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
- Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad-spectrum database for business literature. Particularly useful for information on management practices or corporate implementations of technology. - IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Includes company profiles, news and data for private equity, venture capital, and mergers and acquisitions research.
Funding for this resource is provided by the University's Office of Economic Innovation and Partnerships and Horn Entrepreneurship.