Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Bioinformatics at Other Universities
Recommendation for Library Purchase
The Library welcomes suggestions for books, journals, videos and other
material. Please use the Recommendation for Purchase form to send your suggestions.
"Bioinformatics is a rapidly growing field involving all areas of biological research. High-throughput technologies have established themselves as indispensable tools for the study of biological systems from gene expression level changes and protein concentrations to their modifications and interactions in complex diseases and systems. It is well understood that high quality research will depend on the availability of wide range of bioinformatics support and tools." (Quoted from the Harvard Countway Medical Library Site)
"According to the NCBI, Bioinformatics
is the field of science in which biology, computer science, and
information technology merge to form a single discipline. However, the
process of analyzing and interpreting biological data by using complex
software is defined as computational biology." (Quoted from the University of Florida Libraries site)
Bioinformatics Web sites
Molecular, Cell & Developmental Biology Subject Guide | University of California Library
This exhaustive page, from a bioinformatics librarian, is the best single place to explore the subject and to examine the full range of appropriate available resources. Some information is proprietary to the University of California, but most databases mentioned are available from the University of Delaware Library Databases page. Includes an introduction to the subject field, several glossaries and dictionaries, tutorials and guides, conferences, and a substantial list of sequence and structure
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Extensive site of resources and information from the National Library of Medicine, including a newsletter, bioinformatics databases, and a link to PubMed MEDLINE, the major medical bibliographic database.
A Guide To Bioinformatics Resources On The Internet | 2can Support Portal | EBI
“A guide to bioinformatics resources on the internet,” from the European Bioinformatics Institute.
Computational Molecular Biology at NIH
Links to many tools and programs available from the National Institutes of Health for sequence analysis and molecular biology, including databases, protocols and tutorials.
Bioinformatics Organization - Bioinformatics.Org
“A non-profit, academe-based organization committed to opening access to bioinformatics research projects, providing Open Source software for bioinformatics by hosting its development, and keeping biological information freely available. Bioinformatics.Org is a community focused on the freedom of information as it pertains to the biosciences.”
The Center for Genomics and Bioinformatics - Bioinformatics at the CGB
From the Center for Genomics and Bioinformatics at Indiana University. Includes links to major Internet resources in bioinformatics and also includes links to granting agencies, meetings, various genome projects and a large list of sequence analysis tools and databases.
European Bioinformatics Institute
“The European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) is a center for research and services in bioinformatics. The Institute manages databases of biological data including nucleic acid, protein sequences and macromolecular structures.” The Information section provides information about staff, jobs, conferences and seminars. Access to the following databases is also provided: SRS and the EMBL, TrEMBL, SWISS-PROT, RHdb, MSD databases.
“A Subject Tracer™ Information Blog developed and created by Marcus P. Zillman, M.S., A.M.H.A. for monitoring biological informatics (health informatics, neuroinformatics, biodiversity informatics and biomolecular informatics) resources and sites on the Internet.” Updated daily, an extensive list of Web resources in bioinformatics, including general sites with definitions and sites specific to particular subdisciplines, substances, or structures.