AFI's website hosts information about their educational and training programs, American film heritage, and new media. AFI's 100 Years... lists are designed to celebrate cinema history and generate interest in America's film canon.
The BFI promotes understanding and appreciation of Britain's film and television heritage through a range of activities and services. The website includes information about BFI festivals, publications, the British National Film and Television Archive (NFTVA), factsheets, and educational initiatives.
Online database, listing thousands of movies and TV shows, which can be searched by: title; cast, crew, or character name; keyword; and other search key types. News listings about the movie industry can be found here as well.
The MPAA and its international counterpart, the MPA, serve as the voice and advocate of the American motion picture, home video, and television industries. The site archives articles on issues of concern to the film industry, including copyright, new techonologies, and film piracy, explains the MPAA film rating system, and provides a searchable database for all films with MPAA ratings.
This no-frills database returns reviews of over 44,000 titles. It also offers the option of browsing recent releases and most popular titles as well as articles on various award ceremonies and film festivals.
Browse or search New York Times movie reviews. Included are all films reviewed from the 1920s on, including reviews of all Best Picture Academy Award winners, as well as The New York Times guide to Best 1,000 Movies Ever Made.
This metasite culls reviews from a variety of newspapers, magazines, and web publications and presents brief snippets of them to provide a snapshot of a film's critical reception. Each film is assigned a cumulative rating based on the percentage of positive reviews it receives.
The NFPF supports activities nationwide that preserve American films and improve film access for study, education, and exhibition. The site includes information on grant programs and collaborative projects to help libraries, museums, and archives preserve films and make them available for study and research.
The Museum's mission is to advance the public understanding and appreciation of the art, history, technique, and technology of film, television, and digital media. It does so by collecting, preserving, and providing access to moving-image related artifacts; screening significant films and other moving-image works; and presenting exhibitions of artifacts, artworks, and interactive experiences.
This Library of Congress site represents the development of early American animation with a collection of 21 animated films and 2 fragments, spanning the years 1900 to 1921 and including clay, puppet, and cut-out animation, as well as pen drawings.
A database developed and curated by Barbara Flueckiger, professor at the Department of Film Studies, University of Zurich to provide comprehensive information about historical film color processes invented since the end of the 19th century including specific still photography color technologies that were their conceptual predecessors.
The mission of The Academic Film Archive is to acquire, preserve, document, and promote academic film by providing an archive, resource, and forum for continuing scholarly advancement and public exhibition. The site contains information on dozens of academic filmmakers as well.
William F. Buckley Jr.'s television show Firing Line, a news and politics talk program, was broadcast from 1966 - 1999. The collection includes videotapes of approximately 1,500 shows, as well as transcripts and other items.
This international professional association was established to provide a means for co-operation amongst broadcast and national audiovisual archives and libraries concerned with the collection, preservation and exploitation of moving image and recorded sound materials and associated documentation.
This collection allows for its users to search many moving image databases (such as the esteemed Prelinger Archives, which contains over 1,200 “ephemeral” (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films made from 1927 through the present) and download or stream clips for free.
All copyrighted United States films from 1942 on are, in theory, on deposit in the LoC, with seven to eight thousand added each year. The collection also contains many films made before 1942 and many foreign films.
Free registration allows researchers to download clips from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive for educational use. The Archive covers news, sports, social history, and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.
The goals of SCMS are to promote all areas of media studies within colleges and universities; to encourage and reward excellence in scholarship and writing; to facilitate and improve the teaching of media studies as disciplines and to advance multi-cultural awareness and interaction.
The SVA is a section of the American Anthropological Association that promotes the study of visual representation and media. SVA members are involved in all aspects of production, dissemination, and analysis of visual forms, including film and video.
UFVA aims to support various aspects of making and teaching of film and video through an annual conference, publication of the Journal of Film and Video, and maintaining this website with association information and news.
The Theatre Historical Society of America has been dedicated to documenting the rich heritage of historic theatres in the United States -- from 19th century opera houses, early nickelodeons, small town and neighborhood theatres, to ornate movie palaces, drive-ins, and early multiplexes.