Starting Points
- The LINGUIST List"International linguistics community online."
- Linguistic Resources on the InternetMaintained by Summer Institute of Linguistics.
Languages and Language Families
- Do You Speak American?Based on the PBS televison documentary by Robert MacNeil.
- Ethnologue, Languages of the World“Languages of the world and a whole lot more.” Online guide to the world's approximately 6,500 languages.
- India: Languages and ScriptsMaintained by Yashwant K. Malaiya, Colorado State University, this site has overviews and resources devoted to the language and script of the major languages spoken in South Asia. Additional sections include the evolution of Brahmi script; digitized manuscript images; calligraphy, bijaksharas, and yantras; and classical languages and texts.
Endangered Languages
- Endangered Languages Archive (ELAR)A digital repository for the documentations and descriptions of endangered languages
Dictionaries and Lexicography
Google has a lexicographic functionality. Enter define: and then a term in the search box, and the results list consists of sites that define that term.
- Dictionary.comA commercial site providing access to a number of dictionaries, English and foreign-language; answers to grammatical questions; and a translation page that will translate anything from a phrase to an entire Web page from one major European language, including English, to another.
- Dictionnaire des Synonymes du CRISCOA thesaurus of 52,000 entries (over 400,000 synonyms), gleaned from seven standard French-language dictionaries. It is the work of researchers at the Institut National de la Langue Française.
- Lexical FreeNetFinite relation expression networks, or FreeNets, allow you to search for lexical and conceptual relationships between words or phrases. Lexical FreeNet is a network that combines semantic relations derived from WordNet with relations derived from other linguistic data. To operate Lexical FreeNet, type in a source concept and a target concept, select the linguistic relations you would like to explore, and then choose a query option. Every query returns a mapped binary connection, showing the pat
- lexicool.comA directory of "all" the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet.
- Lexique de l'ancien françaisOnline version of the Altfranzösisches Wörterbuch, which contains 48,000 Old French words. The online version supplements the print by including grammatical categories and graphical variants.
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new windowOffers easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources.
- WordNetAn on-line lexical reference system whose design is inspired by current psycholinguistic theories of human lexical memory. English nouns, verbs, adjectives and adverbs are organized into synonym sets, each representing one underlying lexical concept. Different relations link the synonym sets. WordNet was developed by the Cognitive Science Laboratory at Princeton University.
Phonology
- International Phonetic AssociationMaterial at the site includes the International Phonetic Alphabet (2005).
- Telsur ProjectA survey of linguistic changes in progress in North American English.
Translation
- Translators’ On-line Resources"Hot links for translators."
Linguistic Corpora
- British National CorpusA 100-million-word collection of samples of written and spoken language from a wide range of sources, designed to represent a wide cross-section of current British English, both spoken and written.
- LDC - Linguistic Data ConsortiumSpeech, natural language, and text databases, with speech corpora and lexicons.