Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Contains all surviving Old English material, excluding some variant texts. The texts have been divided into meaningful units, usually editorial sentences. The Corpus comprises over 3000 different texts.
Other Databases Covering Some Aspects of Linguistics
Part of the Literature Online database. It contains over 750,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
4 concurrent users allowed. Part of the Literature Online database.
Research the world’s more than 7,000 known living languages, and get access to statistics and other information on the living languages of the world, including the number of speakers, location, dialects, linguistic affiliations and autonym.
Citations to articles in scholarly journals and specialized magazines. Titles relating to linguistics include American Speech, Etc., International Journal of American Linguistics, Journal of Linguistics, Linguistics, and Romance Philology.
Backfiles of scholarly journals. Titles of relevance to linguists in the Language and Literature Collection include: African Language and Cultures Supplement, American Speech, Hispania, Hispanic Review, Italica, Japanese Language and Literature, Language, Modern Language Journal, and Modern Philology.
Offers easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources.
Indexes published scholarly journals and books in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
Can be searched in conjunction with the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which contains all information available on journals & series on the Bibliography‘s Master List. The Directory of Periodicals is included in the Bibliography.
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. It provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
Includes the full text of articles in Cognitive Science, Computers and Composition, English for Specific Purposes, Journal of Communication Disorders, Journal of Fluency Disorders, Journal of Neurolinguistics, Journal of Pragmatics, Journal of Second Language Writing, Language & Communication, Language Sciences, Lingua, Linguistics and Education
Start-up costs for the ScienceDirect database were made available through the support of the late Judge Hugh M. Morris and the Judge Hugh M. Morris Family. The organic chemistry and inorganic chemistry backfiles are made available through a grant from the Unidel Foundation.
One of the components of the Institute for Scientific Information’s Citation Databases (Web of Science). Use this database to search for published scholarly literature by author, title, or subject or by cited author.