From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
RefWorks
Most Useful Database
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Dictionaries and Linguistic Corpora
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new windowcorpus consisting of nearly 2000 texts in French, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
- Dictionary of Old English This link opens in a new windowContains all surviving Old English material, excluding some variant texts. The texts have been divided into meaningful units, usually editorial sentences. The Corpus comprises over 3000 different texts.
Other Databases Covering Some Aspects of Linguistics
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of the Literature Online database. It contains over 750,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
- Abstracts in AnthropologyAuthor and subject index to the literature of anthropology, covering cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. - BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles appearing in approximately 9,000 periodicals dealing with life science. Some coverage of cognitive science, cognition, audiology, etc. - CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing and abstracts for many of the standard hearing and speech journals. - Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study, including linguistics. - Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new windowResearch the world’s more than 7,000 known living languages, and get access to statistics and other information on the living languages of the world, including the number of speakers, location, dialects, linguistic affiliations and autonym.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new windowSome coverage of indigenous languages of Central and South America.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in scholarly journals and specialized magazines. Titles relating to linguistics include American Speech, Etc., International Journal of American Linguistics, Journal of Linguistics, Linguistics, and Romance Philology. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowBackfiles of scholarly journals. Titles of relevance to linguists in the Language and Literature Collection include: African Language and Cultures Supplement, American Speech, Hispania, Hispanic Review, Italica, Japanese Language and Literature, Language, Modern Language Journal, and Modern Philology.
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new windowOffers easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes published scholarly journals and books in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowUndisputed authority on the history and development of the English language.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes thousands of journals and magazines in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Areas of coverage include linguistics and philology. - Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. - Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of articles in Language, Linguistic Inquiry, Oceanic Linguistics, and Texas Studies on Literatures and Languages.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts of the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. It provides access to books, book chapters, journal articles, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIncludes the full text of articles in Cognitive Science, Computers and Composition, English for Specific Purposes, Journal of Communication Disorders, Journal of Fluency Disorders, Journal of Neurolinguistics, Journal of Pragmatics, Journal of Second Language Writing, Language & Communication, Language Sciences, Lingua, Linguistics and Education
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
References and abstracts to journal articles in sociology and related disciplines, such as sociolinguistics. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
One of the components of the Institute for Scientific Information’s Citation Databases (Web of Science). Use this database to search for published scholarly literature by author, title, or subject or by cited author.
