Related Guide
Refer to the Education Tests and Measures Research Page for additional information.
RefWorks
Finding Published Tests and Measurements
Researchers often come to the library to find copies of published tests and measurements. The Library does not keep copies of testing instruments. However, we do have resources to help researchers to locate test descriptions and the contact information of test publishers. With this information, researchers can contact the publisher to learn the cost and availability of the tests, and how to obtain them.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This database provides information and reviews regarding all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. The tests themselves are not included within this database, rather, detailed information about the tests is available.
Finding Unpublished Tests and Measurements
Information about unpublished tests usually appears in journal articles. There are several ways to discover an unpublished measurement within the literature.
Directories:
The following directories can help researchers to locate unpublished tests:
- Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures: This valuable directory provides researchers and students easy access to recently developed experimental mental measures, tests, and surveys that are not commercially available. Call Number: Reference BF431 .G625 2008
- ETS Test Link: A free, online database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside the Educational Testing Service. It contains information about tests from the early 1900s to the present.
Searching the Literature:
If you cannot find a test that suits your needs either in the sources for published tests or in the directories listed above, you may be able to locate a test of interest by searching within the scholarly literature by using the following databases.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Note: When searching CINAHL for instruments, limit "Publication Type" to: Questionnaire/Scale & Research Instruments. - ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles in education journals and documents. Full-text available via GetIt! for UD Library subscribed titles. Also contains resources on training and development; library and information science. (Coverage: 1966 --)
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO is useful for finding a specific test or scale in the academic literature. You can also use it to find studies that use a particular test or scale.
Additionally, PsycINFO is the best source for finding literature reviews and discussion of possible biases in assessment tools. To find the most useful information you can search by type of test, author of the test or the exact test name itself. Combining your terms with the keywords listed below will retrieve different results.
Selected Books on Tests & Measurements
Measurement in nursing and health researchCall Number: RT81.5 .W36 2005
Health Measurement Scales : A Practical Guide to Their Development and UseCall Number: RA408.5 .S77 2003
Health outcome measures in primary and out-patient careCall Number: RA399 .A1 H43x 1996
For More Information
For information about researching and using published or unpublished tests, see the following sources:
- American Psychological AssociationContains a fantastic tutorial on locating published and unpublished tests. Also includes an excellent discussion of the researcher's responsibility when using unpublished instruments.
- Health Services and Sciences Research ResourcesHSRR contains information about research datasets and instruments/indices employed in Health Services Research, and the Behavioral and Social Sciences with links to PubMed and additional resources.
- PROQOLIDPatient-Reported Outcome and Quality of Life Instruments Database. Limited access for non-members