Physical Therapy Databases
A library database is an electronic catalog or index used to locate articles and other research material. Some databases provide access to only abstracts (summaries of articles) and others will provide full text of the actual article. Click the Get It! button to locate full text. The following databases are recommended to locate articles and other resources relevant for Physical Therapy topics.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of 6 databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- LWW Health Library - Physical Therapy This link opens in a new windowOnline textbooks with case descriptions, procedure videos, images, and lecture resources related to physical therapy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE and other related databases. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science interface provides online access to the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Databases. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing and allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --)
- Sports Medicine and Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the peer-reviewed literature of physical education, kinesiology, sports medicine and more.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new windowBates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
- Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window“The world’s most detailed 3D model of human anatomy online.” Primal Pictures features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and textual descriptions by leading specialists supplement the animations and models. Interactive learning modules covering basic human anatomy focus on one or more areas of the body, from a generalist’s or specialist’s perspective. Images are not mere drawings but are derived from real medic
- Complete Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Interactive mobile app that allows users to view and manipulate body systems, add layers, explore physiological features, and more. See below for activation and access information.
Additional Databases
Use these additional databases to locate articles and other resources when conducting research in the Health Sciences.
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Sciences Set is an interdisciplinary database which offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. - CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of research on agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine, and much more. - Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new windowSpringer Protocols provides access to 30 years (1980-2010) of scientific protocols, which are step-by-step procedures that enable researchers to reproduce laboratory experiments.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains citations and abstracts to articles appearing in approximately 9,000 periodicals dealing with life science. It covers literature from 1990-present and is updated quarterly.
Search Google Scholar
Search Google Scholar
Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.