Search Credo Reference
Google Books
Many works of literature are out of copyright and available digitally through Google Books.
Related Guides
Online Literature Collections
- ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
The ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. Along with ARTFL's flagship database ARTFL-FRANTEXT, ARTFL members are also given access to a variety of other subscriber databases. ARTFL also supports many Open Access databases. (Coverage:17th-20th centuries)
- Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
Poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Finding Books on Literary Criticism
Include the phrases "criticism and interpretation" or "history and criticism" in a DELCAT Discovery keyword search. Use the asterisk (*) as a wildcard, as in the example below.
Some example searches:
- Voltaire "criticism and interpretation"
- "Africa* drama" "history and criticism"
Databases for Literary Criticism
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 authors and their works in all disciplines, all time periods, and from around the world.
- Book Review Digest Plus/Book Review Digest Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes, citations and excerpts to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Includes some full-text reviews. (Coverage: Book Review Digest Plus, 1983 -- | Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1905-1982)
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Every issue of the TLS published from 1902-2019. Identification of anonymous contributors is included, allowing users to explore in greater depth the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and early 21st centuries. (Coverage 1902-2019)
