Research Guides: Industry Research: Industry Overview

Sources for Industry Overview

Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Contains selected industry reports.
Searches can be done on company name or ticker symbol, industry code/description (SIC or NAICS), subjects in article, geographic search, or personal name. Searches can be limited by journal name, date range, or content area.

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Contains a significant number of industry reports based on NAICS or SIC.
Print edition is available see Morris Library - Reference HC102 .E53 2008.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Select from Tabs on the top of the page for Industry Reports, Statistics, Outlooks, etc
Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
U.S. industry market research and industry risk ratings. Contains trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. Includes emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance.
All reports in this collection are updated between 1 and 4 times a year.
Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Investment research and commentary from Standard & Poor’s. Content includes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Select from the bottom page -- First Research. Enter email and search for any industry analysis for your product.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A modular product, includes U.S. Company Data and/or International Company Data; Company and Industry Reports and Analysis