Sources for Ratio data
There are many other sources for ratio data including business databases. These are some of the few available through the library and the internet.
- Business Insights: Global This link opens in a new window
Full-text company and industry intelligence on global corporations.
- BizStats Financial RatiosSelected Industry Statistics and Financial Ratios are available for sole proprietorships, S-corporations, and corporations from BizStats website. May require registration.
- eStatement Studies (RMA) This link opens in a new window
Source of composite financial data, including balance sheet and income statement information and ratios, provided by member institutions. Arranged by industry and business size. Access includes 2 sets of data: Financial Ratios Benchmarks | Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures.
- Key Business Ratios This link opens in a new window
Access to competitive benchmarking data. Researchers can examine industry benchmarks compiled from DandB®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios in 800 lines of business. (Coverage: latest 3-5 years depending on the Industry Code.)
- Key Business Ratios Archive This link opens in a new window
Archival access to Key Business Ratios. Includes benchmarking data from public and private companies. (Coverage:1979 to 3-5 years ago)
- Marketscope Advisor This link opens in a new window
Extensive market commentary, independent investment analysis, real-time news and extensive data about a broad range of asset classes and sectors.
- Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining and Trade CorporationsPresents estimated statements of income and retained earnings, balance sheets, and related financial and operating ratios. Also in U.S. Documents-Microfiche C 3.267:
- Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Information about investments, including stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertible securities, as well as special situation stocks.
- Yahoo Industry CenterSelect Industry, and then Industry Browser for industry ratios.
Other Sources For Industry Ratios
There are a number of resources for gathering industry ratios. The following print sources are available in the library.
- Analyst's Handbook. New York: Standard & Poor's Corporation. Annual with monthly supplements.
Location: Morris Library - Reference (Ref HG4915 .S74).
Location: Morris Library - ( HG4915 .S74) Earlier eds. - Includes composite per share ratios for about 100 covered industries, and the S&P 400, the S&P 40 Utilities, the S&P 20 Transportation, the S&P 40 Financial, and the S&P 500 Composite Companies, etc.
- Troy,Leo. Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice-Hall, Annual.
Location: Morris Library - Reference (Ref HF5681 .R25 T68) Latest ed.
Location: Morris Library (HF5681 .R25 T68) Earlier eds. - Provides ratios, grouped by asset size, are listed for industries and product lines, by NAICS code from the 2002 Edition onwards
- Financial Studies of the Small Business. Washington, D. C., : Financial Associates, Annual.
Location: Morris Library - Reference (Ref HD2346 .U5 F55a ) Latest ed.
Location: Morris Library (HD2346 .U5 F55a) Earlier eds. - Gives nineteen ratios for small businesses with assets under $1,000,000. Arranged in groups by asset size and business category.
- D&B Key Business Ratios.
Location: Library Databases
Location: Morris Library - Reference (Ref HF 5681 .R25 I525) Latest ed; and on database page. Earlier eds. (HF 5681 .R25 I525)- on stacks. Provides key ratios (at median, upper, and lower quartiles) for industries arranged by SIC number.
- Annual Statement Studies. Philadelphia : The Risk Management Association (formerly Robert Morris Associates.
Location: Morris Library - Reference (Ref HF5681 .B2 R6 ) Latest ed.
Location: Morris Library (HF5681 .B2 R6) Earlier eds. - Gives current and historical ratios for manufacturing, wholesale, retail, and selected service industries. Includes a bibliography of ratio sources for particular industries.
RMA annual statement studies. Philadelphia, PA: Robert Morris Associates
Location: Morris Library - Reference (Ref HF5681 .B2 R6) Latest ed.
Location: Morris Library (HF5681 .B2 R6) Earlier eds.
Provides ratios, grouped by asset size, are listed for industries and product lines, by NAICS code from the 2002 Edition onwards