Finding books and articles
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly, news, or magazine articles on any topic. - Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic and to help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Core Collection covers the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers over 21,500 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers across scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and arts & humanities fields. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, indexing journal articles and patent records (and other document types), as well as chemical substances and reactions. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally
- Google BooksA digital collection of books that Google has scanned and converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR). Google Books includes books with full access and partial access. To view only full access books, click 'Any view' and then choose 'Full view'.
- Google NewsProvides comprehensive up-to-date news coverage, aggregated from sources all over the world. Search for topics, locations and sources or browse the news by subject, including Business, Technology, Science and Health, using the tab across the top.
- Google News Archive: SearchThe collection contains 60 million scanned pages, covering 250 years. Google shut down the project in 2011, but the scanned pages are still available. Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search engine specifically for scholarly publications. Use the Get It! link to find full text access via library subscriptions. Open access and preprint publications provide the full-text of articles.
Search DELCAT
Tips for searching DELCAT
Basic Search Tips
Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
"laser inventor"
Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR).
dispute OR controversy
laser AND biography
Advanced Search Tips
Combine and group terms with Boolean logic connectors
"laser inventor" AND (dispute OR controversy)
Use the Search filters for more relevant results
Author/Creator / contains / theodore
Subject / contains exact phrase / lasers history
Subject / contains exact phrase / chemistry -- history