Research Guides: CHEM410: History of Chemistry: Biographical Resources

Databases, memoirs, obituaries, etc.

Chemists -- from Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics. (Wolfram Research platform)
Biochemists -- from Eric Weisstein's World of Scientific Biography
Eric Weisstein's World of Science contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics. (Wolfram Research platform)
Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society -- Archive of Volumes by Date
A unique compilation of memoirs celebrating the lives and scientific achievements of Fellows of the Royal Society. November 1955 - December 2016
National Academy of Sciences: Biographical Memoirs
Published since 1877, Biographical Memoirs provide the life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members. Colleagues familiar with the subject's work write these memoirs and as such, the series provides a biographical history of science in America.
List of Obituaries & Biographical Notices
(Source: European Journal of Organic Chemistry)
Angewandte Chemie (1888-2004);
Chemische Berichte (1918-1997) / European Journal of Inorganic Chemistry (1998);
Helvetica Chimica Acta (1918-1992);
Liebigs Annalen (1975-1997) / European Journal of Organic Chemistry (1998-2010).
Scientific Bios | Science History Institute
Learn about the people behind some of the most significant achievements and discoveries in the history of chemistry, chemical engineering, and the life sciences.
Chemical Genealogy
Entries include chemist, their teacher, students, and those known to have influenced them or have been influenced by them, thus tracing a professional genealogy. Created by Vera V. Mainz and Gregory S. Girolami (1998)
more...less...
The starting points for the present Chemical Genealogy were the faculty at the Department of Chemistry at the University of Illinois and nine other departments. These schools were also included: University of California at Berkeley, the California Institute of Technology, the University of Chicago, Columbia University, Cornell University, Harvard University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Stanford University, and the University of Wisconsin - Madison.
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
An index to a large number of current and retrospective biographical compilations. By searching BGMI you can determine which publication to consult for biographical information.
Contains names, birth/death years, and bibliographic references to books containing naterial on that person and an indication of which books or articles include a portrait. Accessed via the Gale Directory Library platform.
5 concurrent users allowed.
American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source of American biographical information.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
An illustrated collection of biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond. The biographies—of artists, scientists, writers, industrialists, performers, explorers, criminals, and eccentrics as well as politicians, church leaders, and soldiers, mariners, doctors, and lawyers—are written by experts and provide up-to-date scholarship but are also concise and readable. There are no entries for living persons.
Subscription is for 3 simultaneous users.