Questions?
Research & Engagement Department
Sources Related to the 19th Amendment
Keep in mind, these are only a small number of the books we have at UD on this topic. If you are looking to find books on similar topics try the following search techniques:
-
Place quotation marks around keywords and phrases.
-
Ex: "Woman's Suffrage"
-
-
Type su: before your keywords to specify that you are searching for a specific subject.
-
Try different search terms:
-
Ex: "19th Amendment;" "Woman's Suffrage;" Suffrage; "Women's Rights;" "U.S. Constitution"
-
-
Sort list of results in DELCAT by going to "Sorted by" in the right-hand corner and slide down to "Recency."
-
Find a book you like? Scroll down to the bottom of the catalog listing for a list of subject terms.
- Encyclopedia of the American ConstitutionCall Number: KF 4548 .E53 2000ISBN: 9780028648804Publication Date: 2000-06-19
Votes for Women by ISBN: 9780691191171Publication Date: 2019-03-26A richly illustrated history of women's suffrage in the United States that highlights underrecognized activists Marking the centenary of the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment in 1920, Votes for Women is the first richly illustrated book to reveal the history and complexity of the national suffrage movement.
Why They Marched - Untold Stories of the Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote by ISBN: 9780674986688Publication Date: 2019-05-06Looking beyond the national leadership of the suffrage movement, an acclaimed historian gives voice to the thousands of women from different backgrounds, races, and religions whose local passion and protest resounded throughout the land. For far too long, the history of how American women won the right to vote has been told as the tale of a few iconic leaders, all white and native-born. But Susan Ware uncovered a much broader and more diverse story waiting to be told.
Votes for Women! by ISBN: 9781616207342Publication Date: 2018-02-13For nearly 150 years, American women did not have the right to vote. On August 18, 1920, they won that right, when the 19th Amendment to the Constitution was ratified at last. To achieve that victory, some of the fiercest, most passionate women in history marched, protested, and sometimes even broke the law--for more than eight decades.
Suffrage and the City by ISBN: 9780190850364Publication Date: 2019-07-08In 1917, women won the vote in New York State. Suffrage and the City explores how activists in New York City were instrumental in achieving this milestone. Santangelo uncovers the ways in which the demand for women's rights intersected with the history, politics, and culture of New York City in the Gilded Age and Progressive Era.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Image-based government document and legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents and treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, and presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to United States legislative information.
- American History in Video This link opens in a new windowIncludes documentaries on the history of women's suffrage.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSpecifically can search for sources within: Women's Studies Archive, the Making of Modern Law, or Archives of Sexuality & Gender.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes document projects and archives, the online version of Notable American Women (1971-2004), the database on Commissions on the Status of Women (1961-2005), book reviews, teaching tools, and more.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.
- govinfo (GPO)A-Z listings of all documents from the United States Government Publishing Office.
- Congress.govThe website for U.S. government legislative information. Provides information on how the legislative process works. Has a section "Featured Topics and Cases" which lists court cases that relate to the Constitution.
- Women's Vote Centennial InitiativeThe mission of the 2020 Women’s Vote Centennial Initiative (WVCI) is to serve as a central organizing and information-sharing entity for programs, projects, and activities that commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment, educate the public on the legal and social advances resulting from the amendment, and stimulate dialogue to address the ongoing fight for women’s rights.
- Library of Congress- Women's Suffrage SourcesLOC created a list of primary sources surrounding Women's Suffrage. Make sure to search across all of LOC's digital collections to find everything.
- National Archives and Records Administration - Woman Suffrage and the 19th AmendmentOne of two resource pages from NARA that showcases primary sources, background information, and teaching activities.
- National Archives and Records Administration- SuffrageOne of two research guides created by NARA on the history of women's suffrage. This includes information on what is available to research at NARA.
- Susan B. Anthony Digital CollectionThe Schlesinger Library at Harvard University has digitized the eight collections related to Susan B. Anthony's life.
Special Collections at UD
- MSS 0113, Alice Dunbar Nelson papers, 1895-1942, 7.8 linear ftCall Number: MSS 0113The Alice Dunbar Nelson papers documents the personal, literary, and professional life of Alice Dunbar Nelson (1875-1935), the noted African American poet, journalist, educator, and activist. Dunbar Nelson championed women’s suffrage, political activism for African American women, and international peace. The collection includes correspondence, notably in exchange (1895-1904) with her first husband, the poet Paul Laurence Dunbar, and a comprehensive body of Dunbar Nelson’s manuscripts of novels, stories, poetry, drama, and essays, some of which are unpublished. The collection also includes Dunbar Nelson’s published stories, articles, reviews, and syndicated columns. Dunbar Nelson maintained a daily diary for most of her adult life and created scrapbooks, which are found in this collection, along with photographs, family papers, newspaper clippings, ephemera, and memorabilia.
- MSS 0260, New Century Club of Newark, Delaware, records, 1893-2011, 14.6 linear ft.Call Number: MSS 0260The New Century Club of Newark, Delaware, records document the history, organization, and activities of this women's club, which began in 1893 as a reading club, but quickly developed into an organization dedicated to promoting civic responsibility and social service in the Newark community.
- MSS 0448 Records of the League of Women voters of Greater Newark, Delaware, 1949-1998, 12.3 linear ft.Call Number: MSS 0448The records of the League of Women Voters of Greater Newark, Delaware, details the organization and community efforts of this non-partisan citizens’ group. The collection includes material related to the national agenda and study issues of the League of Women Voters, but by nature of the League’s local mission, the collection is a rich source for the social and political history of Newark, Delaware. Of note is the city guide with an overview of municipal services and citizen information, This is Greater Newark, which the Newark League produced between 1969 and 1987.
- MSS 0542, Milford New Century Club records, 1900-2005, 5 linear ft.Call Number: MSS 0542The Milford New Century Club records document the history of the of this Delaware women’s club from its founding in 1898 and demonstrate the intellectual, social, and civic commitment of club members.
- MSS 0542, Milford New Century Club records, 1900-2005, 5 linear ft.Call Number: MSS 0542The Milford New Century Club records document the history of the of this Delaware women’s club from its founding in 1898 and demonstrate the intellectual, social, and civic commitment of club members.