Related Guides
Librarian
Research & Engagement Department
Welcome, researchers!
Cartography: the art and science of graphically representing a geographical area, usually on a flat surface such as a map or chart. It may involve the superimposition of political, cultural, or other nongeographical divisions onto the representation of a geographical area. (Source: Britannica, The Editors of Encyclopaedia. "Cartography". Encyclopedia Britannica, 16 Jan. 2017, https://www.britannica.com/science/cartography.)
Maps, remote sensing images, and spatial data record the locations of things and support many kinds of research. This guide provides information related to cartography, maps, spatial data and geographic information systems (GIS). Click on the tabs to the left to explore content available through the University of Delaware Library.
This 1906 Delaware-Maryland-New Jersey Dover Quadrangle, reprinted in 1915, is part of the Historical Map Collection in the Special Collections Department.
Federal Publications
- National Park Service | GIS, Cartography & MappingFind national park maps and national park system maps, as well as publicly accessible datasets including buildings, trails, road, boundaries and more
- U.S. Government BookstoreSite carries a few maps for sale from various agencies; browse by topic (maps & guides), agency, or collection
- USGS Store | MapsLarge catalog of maps: state, county, world maps; topographic, hydrologic, geologic maps; historical maps, world maps, planet and moons maps, and more
The University of Delaware Library has been Congressionally designated as a depository library in the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) since June 30, 1897. The Library was also a depository for the U.S. Geological Survey Depository Program until it merged with the FDLP. These programs ensure that the American public is informed about the activities of the government by distributing materials published by the federal government to institutions free of charge. In return those institutions promise to house materials and provide the staff necessary for the students, faculty, and general public to use these materials. Under these programs, the Library received Geological Survey topographical maps in the 15 minute and the 7.5 minute series. These series divide the country into units sized in 15 and 7.5 minutes of longitude and latitude and show topography and structures. (A minute is 1/60th of a degree of longitude or latitude.)
Located on the Lower Level of the Hugh M. Morris Library, the Maps Collection is the largest federal depository map collection in the State of Delaware. The Library's Maps Collection includes printed topographic maps for the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. The topographic quadrangles are cataloged by state and filed in the drawers alphabetically by state and quadrangle name. Maps may be found by consulting the Library catalog DELCAT. The federal government also produces nautical charts to support commerce, and an enormous number maps on diverse topics ranging from agricultural climate zones to flood insurance maps, to weather maps. Many of these are available online and can be found through the Library catalog DELCAT (Tip: filter the search results by using the Resource Type "Maps").
For assistance in locating the physical maps, please stop by the Student Multimedia Design Center desk.
Professional Organizations Concerned with Maps
- ACMLA | Association of Canadian Map Libraries and ArchivesCARTO/ACMLA actively serves as the representative professional group for Canadian map librarians, cartographic archivists and others interested in geographic information in all formats.
- ANZMapsS | Australian and New Zealand Map Society IncorporatedANZMapS is an international group of map producers, users and curators in Australia, New Zealand and beyond, which acts as a medium of communication for all those interested in maps.
- ASPRS: The Imaging and Geospatial Information SocietyAmerican Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) is a scientific association serving over 7,000 professional members around the world. Our mission is to advance knowledge and improve understanding of mapping sciences to promote the responsible applications of photogrammetry, remote sensing, geographic information systems (GIS) and supporting technologies.
- CaGIS | Cartography and Geographic Information SocietyInternational network of developers, researchers and educators in the field of Cartography and GIScience
- GSIS | Geoscience Information SocietyThe Geoscience Information Society (GSIS) facilitates the exchange of information in the geosciences through cooperation among scientists, librarians, editors, cartographers, educators, and information professionals.
- ICA | International Cartographic AssociationThe mission of the International Cartographic Association (ICA) is to promote the disciplines and professions of cartography and GIScience in an international context.
- MAGIRT | Map & Geospatial Information Round TableOne of the round tables in the American Library Association, MAGIRT leads and inspires information professionals at all levels of expertise in their work with map and geospatial information resources, collections and technologies in all formats, through community, education and advocacy.
- MCG | Map Curators GroupPart of the British Cartographic Society, this group is for anyone interested in using and sharing maps. Our members include librarians, archivists, curators, map historians and map collectors.
- NACIS | North American Cartographic Information SocietyAn organization of specialists in the field of geographic information with membership throughout North America and the world and comprised of a wide range of professionals and students in the cartographic community spanning the academic, private, and government sectors.
- WAML | Western Association of Map LibrariansThe Western Association of Map Libraries (WAML) is an independent association of map librarians and other people interested in advancing geospatial excellence in libraries of western North America and beyond.