Citation Tools
Use RefWorks to create references and bibliographies to help write course assignments, group papers, thesis, or dissertations.
Discover addition information on Citations Styles.
General Guidelines for citing maps.
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Reference E-Books
Philip's Atlas of the Universe by
A classic and highly readable account of the stars, the planets, and the Universe, together with practical advice on observing the night sky. This revised 6th edition includes the latest information from current space missions, including Cassini.
Call Number: eBook - Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780540082421Publication Date: 2005
The Dictionary of Physical Geography by
This 4th edition covers the whole field of physical geography including climate and atmosphere, geomorphology, biogeography, hydrology, oceans, Quaternary, environmental change, soils, remote sensing and GIS.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118782316Publication Date: 2015
- World Factbook | US CIAThe World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- World Factbook Archives | US CIADownload previous editions of The World Factbook, an annual publication of the US Central Intelligence Agency, summarizing information about countries and regions throughout the world.
- History of CartographyOn this site the University of Chicago Press is pleased to present the first three volumes of the History of Cartography in PDF format.
E-Journals for Maps
While articles on maps and spatially-related subjects may be found in many journals, the Library provides access to a group of electronic journals on this subject through the link below.
- Electronic JournalsArticles about maps, remote sensing, and spatial data are available through journals and databases.
Subject Specific Databases
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970 (Delaware) This link opens in a new windowSanborn maps, produced by the Sanborn Map Company, the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years, are large-scale plans and serve as valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists, and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.
- Historic Map Collection: Maps of Delaware & the Mid-Atlantic RegionA digital collection of maps, drawn from the Historic Map Collection in the Special Collections Department of the University of Delaware Library. The maps are from the 17th through 20th centuries, and include transportation, regional, municipal, manuscript, historical maps, and nautical charts of Delaware Bay.
- Atlas of the state of Delaware : from actual surveys (Map, 1980) [University of Delaware Library]Daniel G. Beers, 1868. Contains detailed maps of the "Hundreds" of Delaware. Some individual farms and buildings are show. There are print copies of this atlas at the University of Delaware Library.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new windowIt is possible to search the U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps directly for maps published in this serial between 1817 and 1994.
- U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN)BGN geographic names resources are available for the following four major areas: Domestic names, Foreign names, Antarctic names, Undersea feature names. To search on Domestic Names, enter here.
- GEOnet Names Server (GNS)The official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names (US BGN). The database also contains variant spellings (cross-references), which are useful for finding purposes. Produced by the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and cited references to material published in scholarly journals in all subject areas
- GEOSCAN DatabaseGEOSCAN is the bibliographic database for scientific publications of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan). The database features over 85,000 records primarily of the Earth Sciences (Geological Survey of Canada publications, National Atlas maps, Topographic maps, Remote sensing and geodesy publications), and is continually growing with records on Mining, Materials and Energy.