Disability Studies

Disability--as with other marginalized topics in social policy--is at risk for exclusion from social debate. This multivolume reference work provides an overview of challenges and opportunities for people with disabilities and their families at all stages of life. * Takes an interdisciplinary approach to studying disability in America * Traces the evolution of U.S. attitudes and policies towards disability through primary documents featuring context-setting headnotes * Provides easy reference via a glossary of terms related to disability studies, including those in the areas of law, health, arts, and culture * Includes contributions from major scholars across disciplines involved in the study of disability

This major reference work breaks new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a regularly updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks. The Encyclopedia consists of 5 volumes and approximately 1,500 entries divided by the major conceptual areas of ASD and PDDs, including: - Research trends and findings - Behavior/speech - Communication - Treatments - Education Taking advantage of the techniques offered by the electronic medium, the Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders offers an extensive cross-referencing system facilitating search and retrieval of information.

The aim of this encyclopedia is to provide a comprehensive reference work on scientific and other scholarly research on the quality of life, including health-related quality of life research or also called patient-reported outcomes research. Since the 1960s two overlapping but fairly distinct research communities and traditions have developed concerning ideas about the quality of life, individually and collectively, one with a fairly narrow focus on health-related issues and one with a quite broad focus. In many ways, the central issues of these fields have roots extending to the observations and speculations of ancient philosophers, creating a continuous exploration by diverse explorers in diverse historic and cultural circumstances over several centuries of the qualities of human existence. What we have not had so far is a single, multidimensional reference work connecting the most salient and important contributions to the relevant fields. Entries are organized alphabetically and cover basic concepts, relatively well established facts, lawlike and causal relations, theories, methods, standardized tests, biographic entries on significant figures, organizational profiles, indicators and indexes of qualities of individuals and of communities of diverse sizes, including rural areas, towns, cities, counties, provinces, states, regions, countries and groups of countries.