Selected databases
Databases organize, or index, information on many journals and the articles published within those journals. Databases can be the most efficient way to search for research on a topic.
- AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations to agricultural literature acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). It includes journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products. - Biological and Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, indexing and abstracts from essential biology and agricultural research journals. Useful for those studying the agricultural industry, veterinary science, wildlife management, and environmental science.
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large index to literature about wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
- Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting for journals within the natural sciences. Brings together ProQuests 6 natural sciences collections: Agriculture Science, Aquatic Science, Atmospheric Science, Biological Science, Earth Science and Environmental Science. (Coverage: 1962 --)
Multidisciplinary databases cover numerous subjects, including entomology and wildlife ecology and related fields.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
These databases cover specialty areas within biology or disciplines which are related to entomology and wildlife ecology.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS). Provides full-text titles from around the world.
- Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include ecosystems, global warming, food safety, and introductions to environmental disasters.
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Adds citation indexing to BIOSIS content and is a thorough reference database for life sciences. Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological and medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Traditional areas such as botany, zoology, microbiology, as well as related fields like biomedicine, agriculture, pharmacology, ecology are covered. Interdisciplinary fields like medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, biotechnology are also included. (Coverage: 1926 --)
- Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Iincludes the Biological Sciences, MEDLINE and TOXLINE databases. Provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection. (Coverage: 1946 --)
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of research on agriculture in the broadest sense. Subjects include Agriculture, Environment, Veterinary sciences, Plant sciences, Mycology and Parasitology, Food science, Human health, and Nutrition. (Coverage: 1990 --)
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To use SciFinder, you must register and provide your UD email. Click here for registration and information. This database extensively covers the literature of chemistry and chemical engineering, including the application of chemistry to agriculture.