Produced by a nationally known state agency, this site includes links to Entomology information under the “Research” link, including several “Insect-related databases” that are of international importance, such as the Ecological Database of the World’s Insect Pathogens and the Soybean Insects Bibliographic Database.
An online database of 131 papers on sampling of 59 species of forest and shade tree insect pests. From researchers Jeffrey Fidgen, Quintin McClellan, Christopher Fettig and Scott Salom of Virginia Tech University.
Links to Web sites, appropriate home pages (such as the CDC, which has its own page, West Nile Virus), textual and graphical information about this important disease carried by mosquitos that affects horses, birds and humans. Includes several fact sheets.
Extensive list of species accounts and distribution records for U.S states and counties. Combines the previous web sites from the Northern Prairie Wildlife Center and the Big Sky Institute at Montana State University. Many entries include photographs.
A general introduction, guide and directory to this important bureau within the U.S. Department of the Interior. It includes an overview of the service, a list of activities, offices, and people, and news, including an electronic journal, Fish and Wildlife News, which is viewed as downloadable PDF files.
Based on the books The Smithsonian Book of
North American Mammals by Don E. Wilson and Sue Ruff
and Mammals of North America by Roland W. Kays and Don
E. Wilson, it is a searchable database of living mammals in
An extensive list of threatened or endangered species compiled by Paul Massicot, formerly of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. Includes indexes by species, by groups, and by country. Each entry is extensive, includes the IUCN status, description, taxonomy, and history of distribution, as well as references to the scientific literature.
Excellent source for identifying existing and proposed endangered species. Includes sections on laws and policies, program news, and a number of full text publications, both monographs and the journal Endangered Species Bulletin. Also provides contact information for local agencies and partners.
Resources listed by the National Agricultural Library, one of five national libraries of the United States which houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
Conducts relevant and objective research, develops new approaches and technologies, and disseminates scientific information needed to understand, manage, conserve, and restore wetlands and other aquatic and coastal ecosystems and their associated plant and animal communities throughout the Nation and the Southeast.
From an organization “committed to developing the scientific and technical means for the protection, maintenance, and restoration of the earth’s biological diversity,” this site includes general and membership news, drop-down menus for information, publications, and activities, and a section of links to pages from partner organizations. A Resources section provides listings of conservation jobs and educational opportunities.
Series of essays and maps that describe current conservation assets in the Northeast region of the U.S. Designed to help research to meet "a key challenge for the protection of habitat and other natural resources: elevating these concerns into the broader policy framework of land use decision making. This is especially true for lands and waters in and around the nation's ten megaregions: conglomerations of metropolitan areas with most of the nation's population and economic growth.
World’s premier scientific archive of natural history audio, video, and photographs. Although the Macaulay Library’s history is rooted in birds, the collection includes amphibians, fishes, and mammals, and the collection preserves recordings of each species’ behavior and natural history.
Environment at a Glance is the OECD platform for environmental indicators. It gives access to the most recent data through interactive graphics and provides key messages on major environmental issues. The indicators shown provide a tool to track environmental performance and progress towards sustainable development.