Key Journals
- Environmental History addresses issues relating to human interactions with the natural world over time
- Environmental Humanities a peer-reviewed, open-access journal featuring interdisciplinary research on the environment
- Environmental Philosophy peer-reviewed articles, discussion papers, and book reviews for persons working and thinking within the broad field of "environmental philosophy"
- Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment seeks to explore the relation between human beings and the natural world
- Journal of Ecocriticism an open-access, peer-reviewed electronic review of ecocriticism and ecoliterature
Full-Text Articles
- Interlibrary LoanGet articles, book chapters, and books not available at UD Library.
Databases
Databases allow you to search the contents of scholarly journals, as well as other materials. Some databases, such as JSTOR and Web of Science, cover a wide variety of topics. Others focus on the scholarship in a specific subject field.
Visit the Databases page to search for a particular database by name or to choose a subject category. Librarians can help you with recommended databases for specific topics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly articles and books across many disciplines.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Science, social science, and some arts/humanities - GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Human impact on the environment - Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues - Art Abstracts/Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts and citations for hundreds of periodicals on art, art history and related disciplines. (Coverage: Abstracts, 1984 --, Indexes, 1929-1984)
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Literature and language - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 400 international music periodicals, plus full-text for over 200 journals. Scholarly and popular music journals included. (Coverage: c. 1996 - present. Retrospective indexing back to 1874.)
- Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. (Coverage: 1940 --)
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles in English-language periodicals. Covers some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known, but important specialized magazines. Subjects include a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. (Coverage: 1907-1984)
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be useful for finding scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports when you're having trouble choosing the right terms to find what you need in subject databases. As you know from using Google, you will get some fairly relevant results no matter what you enter into the search box.
So why do librarians recommend subject databases over Google Scholar?
- Subject databases come with detailed descriptions of the content included. Google does not.
- Subject databases reveal how search results are ranked in terms of their relevance. Google does not.
- Subject databases offer specialized features that help both beginning researchers (e.g., limiting by source type) and advanced researchers (e.g., discipline-specific search fields). Google does not.