Online Collections
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) ArchiveAn archived, 2016 version of the EPA's website that includes background documents to current information and historical information on topics.
- EPA History: Historical Photos and ImagesPhotos from the EPA's Documerica Project (1971-1977) and non-historical environmental photo collections. Also, includes a link to the EPA History page and topics.
- EPA History: Press ReleasesInformation from the EPA on the History of Earth Day.
- NARA: Center for Legislative ArchivesSearch Congressional committee records. Six committees have primary jurisdiction over environmental issues.
House committees: Agriculture; Energy and Commerce; Natural Resources
Senate committees: Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry; Energy and Natural Resources; Environment and Public Works - NARA: Digital Photography CollectionScroll down the page for a list of NARA's photography collections. Collections of environmental interest are: U.S. Geological Survey, U.S. Park Service, and more.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsFreely available digitized materials from the Library of Congress, including the collections formerly called American Memory. Change the area that you are searching under to the Prints & Photographs Division.
- National Park ServiceLink to their index which lists all sites in the U.S.
- NOAA: Oil and Hazardous Materials Response ReportsReports describing oil and chemical spill responses in which NOAA's Office of Response and Restoration (OR&R) participated from October 1992 through September 1999. They contain incident summaries, descriptions of the behavior of spilled material, discussions of countermeasures and mitigation measures applied, and descriptions of special issues.
- Three Mile IslandDickinson College’s Three Mile Island website is made up of a variety of documents related to the nuclear emergency that occurred at the Three Mile Island nuclear power plant in March of 1979. Included are transcripts of interviews collected between April and August of that year in Carlisle PA, selections from the audio recordings of those and more recent, retrospective interviews, newspaper coverage of the emergency by some of the local and regional press, and more.
- Love Canal CollectionLove Canal is probably the country's most notorious and infamous hazardous waste site. It wasn't the first. It wasn't the worst. But it did grab headlines, draw attention, and stimulate scientists, industrial leaders, politicians, government officials, and grassroots activists. The Love Canal neighborhood is in the southeast section of the La Salle area of Niagara Falls, New York. William T. Love, an 1890's visionary and entrepreneur, sought to develop a planned industrial community, Model City, in the area. Waters from the Niagara River were to be routed around the Niagara escarpment (the other famous attraction of the region, Niagara Falls) to produce cheap hydroelectric power.
Archival resources at the University of Delaware
- MSS 0399, Thomas R. Carper congressional papers
Thomas R. Carper (1947- ) served the state of Delaware as its member-at-large in the U.S. House of Representatives for five terms: he was elected as a Democrat to the Ninety-eighth and to the four succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1983 - January 3, 1993). Carper served on the committees of Banking, Finance and Urban Affairs, and Merchant Marine and Fisheries, with memberships on several subcommittees. Carper was elected with the "budget conscious class of 1982" and was a fiscal conservative in his legislative efforts. Carper worked on the bailout plan for the savings and loan industry, correctly predicting the enormity of the problem. The Thomas R. Carper congressional papers reflect issues on banking, environmental and coastal concerns, fishing and tourism, and many other topics of interest to Delawareans in the 1980s. In addition to correspondence, memoranda, and office files, the collection includes reports, documents, and memorabilia from Carper's congressional career.
Specific resources relating to the environment can be found in Series I.A.1., I.B.2, I.C.11. and I.D. - MSS 0528, Gwynne P. Smith papersGwynne P. Smith (1924-2010) was a Republican politician and community activist who served as a state representative in the Delaware General Assembly from 1974 to 1990, representing Delaware's 10th (1975-1982) and 7th (1983-1990) districts (Green Acres). The Gwynne P. Smith papers document the civic activities and legislative career of a woman committed to protecting the environment and improving the quality of life in Delaware. Consisting of 17.5 linear feet and oversized materials, her papers include logs, notes, correspondence, campaign records, voter registration lists, news clippings, state documents, draft legislation, legislative issue files, newsletters, brochures, realia, photographs, audio-visual materials and oversized maps.
- MSS 0745, Russell W. Peterson papersRussell W. Peterson served as governor of Delaware from 1969 to 1973. The Russell W. Peterson papers include correspondence, speeches, personal notes, press clippings, schedules, calendars, personal planners, informational materials, photographs, and audiovisual materials.
