U.S. Environmental History

This link brings you to a long list of the digital collections available at DPA. Click on "Photograph Collections" to view photos from various departments in the Delaware State government. DPA has all collections that are related to the State.

This is a link to Hagley Museum's "Search Collections" page that provides links to the Digital Collections, Finding Aids, and Museums.

Search through Delaware Historical Society's collections through their online catalog.

Sponsored by several government agencies, this website provides an overview on PA environmental history and includes links to original documents.

The Pennsylvania Environmental Council created a blog post dedicated to linking to projects about Black history within conservation history.

Created through Rutgers University, NJEDL is an open repository that collects information on government, non-profit, research institutes, and universities work to protect and advocate for the environment in NJ.

The William J. Cohen Papers, spanning the dates 1967-2001, comprises 37 linear feet of materials that document William J. Cohen's (b. 1941) entire career as an urban and environmental planner in Delaware.

Gwynne P. Smith (1924-2010) was a Republican politician and community activist who served as a state representative in the Delaware General Assembly from 1974 to 1990, representing Delaware's 10th (1975-1982) and 7th (1983-1990) districts (Green Acres). The Gwynne P. Smith papers document the civic activities and legislative career of a woman committed to protecting the environment and improving the quality of life in Delaware. Consisting of 17.5 linear feet and oversized materials, her papers include logs, notes, correspondence, campaign records, voter registration lists, news clippings, state documents, draft legislation, legislative issue files, newsletters, brochures, realia, photographs, audio-visual materials and oversized maps.

Delaware historian William H. Williams (1936-2007) served as professor and leader for the University of Delaware Parallel Program in Georgetown, Delaware, and was highly involved in Delaware public life. This collection comprises personal and academic files, and four series related to Williams's major research and publications: enivronmental history of Delaware; slavery, civil rights, and race relations in Delaware; Methodism in Delaware; and the Delmarva poultry industry.

Russell W. Peterson served as governor of Delaware from 1969 to 1973. The Russell W. Peterson papers include correspondence, speeches, personal notes, press clippings, schedules, calendars, personal planners, informational materials, photographs, and audiovisual materials.

June D. MacArtor (1930-2013) was one of the first twenty-five women admitted to the Delaware bar, later on serving the Attorney General of Delaware's Department of Natural Resources. MacArtor's primary role was to establish a body of environmental case law used for the state of Delaware. The collection, which spans 1934-2015 reflects MacArtor's many positions within the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control, the Delaware Division of Air and Waste Management, and the New Castle County Planning Board.