Finding Scholarly Articles
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more – essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowCitations to scholarly literature on the Middles Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- International Medieval Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
This collection of databases is but a small sample of what UD subscribes to. For a full list of what we have, go to our "Databases" page and search for "Arts & Humanities Databases" from the "Browse by Subject" list.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database of more than 80,000 journals covering all subject areas.
- Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowL’Année philologique, the bibliography of the Classical world, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. Covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics (including early Christian texts and patristics), Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and other scholarly specialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowAn index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Coverage is from 1949 to the present, with retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women’s and gender issues.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of more than 2,000 journals and more than 25,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Included are peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, and academic monographs. JSTOR includes material in more than 75 disciplines including area studies, the arts, business and economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine and allied health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowAn index to the world’s public and social policy literature in the fields of business, economics, local and federal government, political science, international relations, finance, and other social sciences. Includes public policy literature in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish—periodicals, books, and government documents.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowAn interdisciplinary combination of nine important files, drawn from a variety of essential women’s studies databases.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
Journals give you the ability to search for articles on a specific topic or event. It can be an easier way to find relevant information because you are usually not sifting through a large pool of results. If you visit the E-Journals page, you can bring up a list of all the journals with subject content in History & Archeology. We have a list of journals for each country located in Europe that will allow you to see what topics we offer for each. You can also search for a specific journal title from the E-Journals page or in DELCAT.
Tips & Tricks for Searching for Articles
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords...Especially when conducting historical research, you may need to develop words and phrases that were used during that particular time period, rather than modern-day words.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: World War I AND United States
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!