Librarian
Alison Wessel
she/her
Contact:
Social Sciences Librarian
Research and Engagement Department
Request a consult: https://calendar.app.google/ZGdznSTQPVoGdHqS6
Research and Engagement Department
Request a consult: https://calendar.app.google/ZGdznSTQPVoGdHqS6
(302) 831-1730
Welcome
This guide highlights light resources on gender-based violence including recommended books and databases for researching the topic. The University of Delaware is home to the Center for the Study and Prevention of Gender-Based Violence. Review their page to learn more about community partners, national resources, and on-campus resources.
Selected Books
Recommended Databases
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women’s and gender issues. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Included are: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the world’s literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. - Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of in-depth abstracts of current books, book chapters, journal articles, government reports, and dissertations published worldwide related to criminal justice and criminology. The database also offers extensive coverage of new books from scholarly and commercial publishers and valuable reports from public and private agencies in many nations.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowLegal coverage includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, law reviews, legal reference materials, federal and state cases, federal and state statutes and regulations, and Shepard’s® Citations.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline Academic is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents. Coverage of United States government publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the Government Printing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical & life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations & abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from newspapers worldwide and other publications. No images are included. Coverage varies by title.
- Newspaper CollectionsExplore other newspaper collections from various time periods and geographical locations.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal integrating over 80,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 18,000 sources onto a single platform.
- Gender Data Portal | World BankData on key gender topics from the World Bank, national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys. Includes data on fertility, contraception, age at marriage, literacy, employment, health and other vital statistics.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new windowThis fully-searchable collection brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more.
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowConnects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowOrganized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history.
Included are document projects and document archives, primary source collections, the archive of federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women between 1961 and 2005, the online edition of the biographical dictionary, Notable American Women (1971-2004), book reviews, teaching tools, and more.
Coverage: 1600-2000 - Gale Primary Sources. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowGale Primary Sources. Newspapers is an integrated platform that combines Gale’s digital newspaper archives into a single cross-searchable interface. This broadens and enhances the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple news sources from the 17th through 21st centuries. The platform includes 22 newspaper and periodical collections including The Times, The Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, The Illustrated London News, Punch, and collections including British Library Newspapers, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers and more.
- Confronting Violence: Improving Women's LivesDigital exhibit from the National Library of Medicine
Finding Books and Articles
When searching for books and articles, consider the following keywords:
- gender-based violence
- intimate partner violence
- domestic violence
- family violence
- abused women
- battered women
- sexual violence
- sexualized violence
- violence prevention
- violence against women
- violence against transgender people
- gender justice
- crimes against women
- sexual harassment of women
- human trafficking
- sex trafficking