Recommended Databases and Websites
Health
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical & life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations & abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central.
- HSR QueriesPreformulated PubMed search filters on cost and quality
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations & abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature. Updated daily. (4 concurrent users). - CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing & allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, & a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --)
- Disaster LitDisaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience.
Policy
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues & emphasizes factual & statistical information. Print & electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration & legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions & similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --) - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.) - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowComprehensive access to United States legislative information. Learn more about this database.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Legal
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new windowImage-based government document & legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents & treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, & presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, & all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, & legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations & more.
Statistics
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowCloud based Geographic Information System (GIS). Provides access to thousands of demographic indicators across a wide range of geographies, as well as school districts, HUD neighborhoods, & political boundaries. Facilitates the analyses of large amounts of data & quickly displays the data through maps, tables, charts, & reports.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowIndexes & abstracts the statistical content of selected U. S. & state government publications, business & association publications & intergovernmental publications. Abstracts may contain a link to the full- text of the table and/or a link to the agency's website where the full-text of the publication may be viewed & downloaded.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowData on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest & markets. Learn more about this database.
- Health AffairsRanked #1 among health policy and services journals.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
This subscription allows you to simply go to nytimes.com and log in using an individual account. You can also use that account to access the New York Times app.
How to get an account: 1. Go to accessnyt.com 2. Search for and click the listing for “University of Delaware”. 3. Follow the steps based on whether you are on or off-campus. 4. Attention Chrome users! You may receive a security warning. Please go ahead and click ignore!
Important note: If you already have an NYTmes.com account, you will need to log out of your personal account (if registered via a non-UD email address), or cancel your subscription (if registered via a UD email address) before authenticating through the library's subscription. - Wall Street Journal (wsj.com) This link opens in a new windowYou must register at https://wsj.com/udel and sign in via UD’s Central Authentication Service (CAS) to begin the registration process. Registration details and additional information.
Digital edition of The Wall Street Journal (Coverage 4 yrs ago - Present) - News Journal (Wilmington, DE) This link opens in a new windowOnline edition of the News Journal (Wilmington, DE).
Does not include advertisements, graphic material, syndicated columns, or AP articles. Intended to include all articles written by staff, including obituaries & letters, etc., but sometimes this content is not supplied by the newspaper publisher. - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new windowRecent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires & news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America & Australia.
(Coverage: 1980 --)