Finding Secondary Sources
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to publications on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
- "trench warfare"
- "Iranian Coup"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR)
- narrative OR plot
- "American Involvement" AND World War I
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
- Visit our DELCAT Research Guide for additional tips!
Search Tips for Articles:
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords...Especially when conducting historical research, you may need to develop words and phrases that were used during that particular time period, rather than modern-day words.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: World War I AND United States
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!
Browsing the stacks in Morris Library can be extremely helpful when you are looking for additional sources for your research. Most books related to American history can be found on the 3rd floor of Morris Library and fall under the following Library of Congress classifications:
C, D History - General
E History - U.S. - General
F History - U.S. - Local
HT Communities. Classes. Races.
You can also "browse" the shelves virtually, by searching by Call Number through DELCAT.