Finding Primary Sources & Media
-
LACLIAllows for the discovery of free online resources for students and scholars of Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies across the social sciences, natural sciences, and humanities. To date, we've indexed 1,300+ audiovisual collections, books, data, ephemera, government documents, oral histories, periodicals, reference works, visual materials, web archives, and more!
-
Latin American Network Information CenterPlease note: There might be some broken links listed on this website.
-
Hemeroteca Nacional Digital De MexicoFor Spanish language speakers/readers.
-
Latin American PamphletsScarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries that are located in Harvard's Widener Library.
-
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraThe Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
-
Mexican Digital Library ACBe sure to switch the webpage to English if you do not speak Spanish.
-
Mexican Revolution - Beinecke LibraryHundreds of commercial and amateur photographers recorded imagery during the tumultuous Mexican Revolution (Revolución Mexicana), which began in 1910 with an uprising led by Francisco I. Madero (1873-1913) against Porfirio Díaz (1830-1915), the President of Mexico.
-
Library of Congress: Hispanic Reading RoomThe Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
-
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More
-
Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
The British Government Confidential Print volumes for Central and South America and the French and Spanish speaking Caribbean. Coverage begins in the aftermath of independence for the former Spanish and Portuguese colonies of Latin America, addressing the politics of state-building and the Latin American nations’ establishment of their place in the fast-expanding global economy. (Coverage: 1833-1969))
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Archive of 20th Century news from around the world.
-
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)
-
Latin American Newspapers, Series I This link opens in a new window
Explore Latin American history and culture during the 19th and early 20th centuries via 35 Latin American newspapers. Features titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. (Coverage: 1805-1922)
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more.
-
World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Historic newspapers from Africa, Latin America, South Asia, and the U.S.
