Research Guides: Media: Academic Video Online (AVON)

Academic Video Online

Academic Video Online (AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of 80,000+ videos spanning a wide range of subject areas from a variety of high-quality educational content providers.

Videos contained within AVON (as well as other streaming media resources licensed by the Library, Museums and Press) are searchable as online resources via DELCAT. Use the ‘Available online’ check box and filter your search results while searching the Film & Video Collection to limit your results to these videos:

You may wish to search and browse directly within the AVON database as well. See below for suggestions.

Collections

Content within AVON can be fluid – new videos are added over time, and occasionally titles are removed. The Library, Museums and Press has been able to purchase the following collections, ensuring that the content within them will continue to be available into the future. You may choose to search and browse these collections directly, however you may find newer content by searching related subjects and keywords in the full AVON collection.

American History in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos related to American history, including commercial and governmental newsreels, archival and public affairs footage, and documentaries. Includes content from Newsreel Films, Documentary Educational Resources, PBS, The History Channel, NASA, NARA, and Universal Newsreel. Covers the discovery of the Americas to the late 20th century.
Broadway On Demand Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 200+ videos curated to help foster a deeper understanding of the theatrical arts. Content includes musicals, plays, dance performances, behind-the-scenes series, documentaries, and masterclasses.
Contemporary Global Issues in Video This link opens in a new window
Films covering a broad array of human rights, environmental concerns and social issues.
Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains videos curated and developed to meet the educational and research needs of counseling curricula.
Film Platform Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 700+ documentary films curated for an academic audience by the distributor Film Platform.
Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
Meet the Press is a weekly American television news/interview program broadcast on NBC. It is the longest-running program in television history, debuting in 1947, and specializing in interviews with leaders on issues of politics, economics, foreign policy and other public affairs, along with panel discussions providing opinions and analysis.
Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection This link opens in a new window
Co-created by Quincy Jones and Reza Ackbaraly, this collection of 150 curated titles includes live performances covering the evolution of jazz, funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
High definition streaming video of world-class productions offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Classics reimagined to reflect modern sensibilities and diversity. (50 video performances produced between 2010 and 2021.)
Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, this collection offers a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. Included are unique supplements to the filmed productions — exclusive digitized archival materials such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and costume bibles which provide behind-the-scenes background and contextual information.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video This link opens in a new window
Features over 240, 2-22 minute Symptom Media videos of common mental health disorders nurses may encounter to prepare them to better assess, diagnose, and manage mental health issues in patients.
Also includes 20+ patient ‘cases’ with scenarios demonstrating skills such as limit setting, diffusing of anger, patient negotiations, phrasing of questions, and use of assessments.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to demonstration and training videos designed for nursing students.
Access to Medcom’s complete collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. (Coverage: 1987 - )
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection of 1,600+ streaming videos provides a range of documentaries and series from the Public Broadcasting Service.
Popular Culture Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
Covers an array of pop culture topics, incorporating documentaries on films, television, fashion, comics, and gaming. It spotlights influential figures across the fields of entertainment, art, sports and cultural spheres.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Includes streaming performances of plays and related documentaries, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Subject and Publisher Searching

AVON provides filtered searching options that allow you to browse video content by subject, producer, content type, and other features. You can leverage these search filters to create a search that is targeted for the types of video content you or your students find most useful. (If you would like assistance in developing your search, contact the Film & Video Collection Librarian.) Some suggested searches can be found below.

Browse by subject:

Browse by publisher: