Finding Secondary Sources
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature databases. An extensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. (Coverage: late 19th c. --)
- Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
Compiles two databases: CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades) indexes documents in Latin American journals that specialize in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA (Indice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencia) covers journals specializing in science and technology. (Coverage: CLASE, 1975-- | PERIODICA, 1978 --)
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to publications on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
"trench warfare"
"Haitian Revolution"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR).
Bay of Pigs Invasion OR Invasion of Cuba
"American Involvement" AND World War I
- Click either "View all formats and languages" or "View all editions" to view all library holdings for a particular title.
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via interlibrary loan.
- Use the limiters on the left-hand side of your results page to change the language of the material.
Advanced Search Tips
- Type au:, su: or ti: before your keywords to specify author, subject or title words.
su:Haitian Revolution
- A title search may identify items that have matching words in their chapter titles or contents lists.
- See Searching WorldCat: Index Quick Reference for other options.
Browsing the stacks in Morris Library can be extremely helpful when you are looking for additional sources for your research. Most books related to Latin American and Iberian history can be found on the 3rd floor of Morris Library and fall under the following Library of Congress classifications:
D History - General
F1201 - 3799 Latin America. Spanish America
If you would like to see a full list of where Latin American countries are within the above call number range, please visit the Latin American & Iberian Studies research guide. You can also "browse" the shelves virtually by searching by Call Number through DELCAT.