Finding Primary Sources by Time Period
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery today.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
- Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- Library of Congress: Hispanic Reading RoomThe Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Library of Congress: Jay I. Kislak CollectionThe Jay I. Kislak Collection of the Archaeology and History of the Early Americas is composed of important archaeological artifacts, rare books, manuscripts, maps and graphic works of art, which survey the earliest history of the lands that would become known as the Americas. Jay I. Kislak donated the collection to the Library of Congress in 2014. The dates of the collection items range from around 2000 BCE until the twenty-first century. The collection is in English, with Spanish, Dutch, German, and indigenous languages of Nahuatl, Ixil, K’iche (Quiché), and Q’eqchi’ (Kekchi).
- Library of Congress Exhibit: Exploring the Early AmericasExploring the Early Americas features selections from the more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts that make up the Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress. It provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans and European explorers and settlers, and the pivotal changes caused by the meeting of the American and European worlds.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Collection of monographs and pamphlets assembled by Manoel de Oliveira Lima, a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian and book collector whose career spanned Brazils transition from empire to republic. Brazilian history and literature were the central focus of his writing and collecting. The collection was donated to Catholic University of America in 1920. (Coverage: 17th early 20th centuries)
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Charts the rise and fall of empires around the world over a span of 5 centuries. Includes a mixture of printed, manuscript and visual primary source documents. Subjects include colonial history, society, trade and travel, politics and culture. Provides varying points of view, with selections from American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese German and British perspectives. Also includes texts from the peoples of Africa, India and North America. (Coverage Late 15th to early 21st centuries)
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Through a wide range of primary sources, researchers can explore and chart the history of 15 key commodities and their impact on societies across the world. (Coverage: 18th-20th centuries )
15 Key Commodities: Chocolate – Coffee – Cotton – Fur – Oil – Opium – Porcelain – Silver and Gold – Spices – Sugar – Tea – Timber – Tobacco – Wheat – Wine and Spirits
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabins landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world over 5 centuries. Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture, and at times, South America and the Caribbean.(Coverage: 1500-1926)
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery today.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
- Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
- Colonial CaribbeanDigital resource covering three centuries of Caribbean history from 1624 to 1870 drawn from the archives of the British Colonial Office. Records include: administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, and details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords. The colonies include: Anguilla, Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Berbice, Bermuda, British Guiana, British Honduras, British Virgin Islands, Curaçao, Demarara, Dominica, Essequibo, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher (St. Kitts), St. Croix, Santo Domingo, St. Eustatius, St. Lucia, St. Thomas, St. Vincent, Suriname, Tobago, Tortola, Trinidad, and Turks and Caicos.
- Early Caribbean Digital ArchiveTexts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean.
- Library of Congress: Hispanic Reading RoomThe Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Library of Congress: Jay I. Kislak CollectionThe Jay I. Kislak Collection of the Archaeology and History of the Early Americas is composed of important archaeological artifacts, rare books, manuscripts, maps and graphic works of art, which survey the earliest history of the lands that would become known as the Americas. Jay I. Kislak donated the collection to the Library of Congress in 2014. The dates of the collection items range from around 2000 BCE until the twenty-first century. The collection is in English, with Spanish, Dutch, German, and indigenous languages of Nahuatl, Ixil, K’iche (Quiché), and Q’eqchi’ (Kekchi).
- Library of Congress Exhibit: Exploring the Early AmericasExploring the Early Americas features selections from the more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts that make up the Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress. It provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans and European explorers and settlers, and the pivotal changes caused by the meeting of the American and European worlds.
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Collection of monographs and pamphlets assembled by Manoel de Oliveira Lima, a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian and book collector whose career spanned Brazils transition from empire to republic. Brazilian history and literature were the central focus of his writing and collecting. The collection was donated to Catholic University of America in 1920. (Coverage: 17th early 20th centuries)
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
The British Government Confidential Print volumes for Central and South America and the French and Spanish speaking Caribbean. Coverage begins in the aftermath of independence for the former Spanish and Portuguese colonies of Latin America, addressing the politics of state-building and the Latin American nations’ establishment of their place in the fast-expanding global economy. (Coverage: 1833-1969))
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Through a wide range of primary sources, researchers can explore and chart the history of 15 key commodities and their impact on societies across the world. (Coverage: 18th-20th centuries )
15 Key Commodities: Chocolate – Coffee – Cotton – Fur – Oil – Opium – Porcelain – Silver and Gold – Spices – Sugar – Tea – Timber – Tobacco – Wheat – Wine and Spirits
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabins landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world over 5 centuries. Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture, and at times, South America and the Caribbean.(Coverage: 1500-1926)
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
- Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
- Latin American Network Information CenterPlease note: There might be some broken links listed on this website.
- Latin American PamphletsScarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries that are located in Harvard's Widener Library.
- Library of Congress: Hispanic Reading RoomThe Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Library of Congress: Jay I. Kislak CollectionThe Jay I. Kislak Collection of the Archaeology and History of the Early Americas is composed of important archaeological artifacts, rare books, manuscripts, maps and graphic works of art, which survey the earliest history of the lands that would become known as the Americas. Jay I. Kislak donated the collection to the Library of Congress in 2014. The dates of the collection items range from around 2000 BCE until the twenty-first century. The collection is in English, with Spanish, Dutch, German, and indigenous languages of Nahuatl, Ixil, K’iche (Quiché), and Q’eqchi’ (Kekchi).
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Collection of monographs and pamphlets assembled by Manoel de Oliveira Lima, a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian and book collector whose career spanned Brazils transition from empire to republic. Brazilian history and literature were the central focus of his writing and collecting. The collection was donated to Catholic University of America in 1920. (Coverage: 17th early 20th centuries)
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
The British Government Confidential Print volumes for Central and South America and the French and Spanish speaking Caribbean. Coverage begins in the aftermath of independence for the former Spanish and Portuguese colonies of Latin America, addressing the politics of state-building and the Latin American nations’ establishment of their place in the fast-expanding global economy. (Coverage: 1833-1969))
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
Through a wide range of primary sources, researchers can explore and chart the history of 15 key commodities and their impact on societies across the world. (Coverage: 18th-20th centuries )
15 Key Commodities: Chocolate – Coffee – Cotton – Fur – Oil – Opium – Porcelain – Silver and Gold – Spices – Sugar – Tea – Timber – Tobacco – Wheat – Wine and Spirits
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabins landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world over 5 centuries. Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture, and at times, South America and the Caribbean.(Coverage: 1500-1926)
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective.
- Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
- Latin American Network Information CenterPlease note: There might be some broken links listed on this website.
- Latin American PamphletsScarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries that are located in Harvard's Widener Library.
- Library of Congress: Hispanic Reading RoomThe Hispanic Reading Room is the primary access point for research related to the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinos in the U.S. and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Library of Congress: Jay I. Kislak CollectionThe Jay I. Kislak Collection of the Archaeology and History of the Early Americas is composed of important archaeological artifacts, rare books, manuscripts, maps and graphic works of art, which survey the earliest history of the lands that would become known as the Americas. Jay I. Kislak donated the collection to the Library of Congress in 2014. The dates of the collection items range from around 2000 BCE until the twenty-first century. The collection is in English, with Spanish, Dutch, German, and indigenous languages of Nahuatl, Ixil, K’iche (Quiché), and Q’eqchi’ (Kekchi).
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More
- Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)
- Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture This link opens in a new window
Collection of monographs and pamphlets assembled by Manoel de Oliveira Lima, a Brazilian diplomat, journalist, historian and book collector whose career spanned Brazils transition from empire to republic. Brazilian history and literature were the central focus of his writing and collecting. The collection was donated to Catholic University of America in 1920. (Coverage: 17th early 20th centuries)
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new window
The British Government Confidential Print volumes for Central and South America and the French and Spanish speaking Caribbean. Coverage begins in the aftermath of independence for the former Spanish and Portuguese colonies of Latin America, addressing the politics of state-building and the Latin American nations’ establishment of their place in the fast-expanding global economy. (Coverage: 1833-1969))
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)
- Sabin Americana This link opens in a new window
Based on Joseph Sabins landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world over 5 centuries. Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture, and at times, South America and the Caribbean.(Coverage: 1500-1926)
- Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraThe Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously unavailable subset of Princeton’s Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis.
- Latin American Network Information CenterPlease note: There might be some broken links listed on this website.
- Latin American PamphletsScarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries that are located in Harvard's Widener Library.
- Library of Congress: Jay I. Kislak CollectionThe Jay I. Kislak Collection of the Archaeology and History of the Early Americas is composed of important archaeological artifacts, rare books, manuscripts, maps and graphic works of art, which survey the earliest history of the lands that would become known as the Americas. Jay I. Kislak donated the collection to the Library of Congress in 2014. The dates of the collection items range from around 2000 BCE until the twenty-first century. The collection is in English, with Spanish, Dutch, German, and indigenous languages of Nahuatl, Ixil, K’iche (Quiché), and Q’eqchi’ (Kekchi).
- World Digital LibraryThe World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More
- Archives of Latin America and Caribbean History 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes a comprehensive range of content for the region, both for current issues and events in Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as for historical perspective back to the colonial period. (Coverage: 15th -20th c.)