Locating Primary Sources
Finding primary sources is a multi-step process. There is no "one-stop-shop" database that will give you everything you need for your paper. Follow these tips:
- Look at the bibliographies and footnotes from articles and books to see what primary sources those scholars are using for evidence
- Think and research multiple institutions, archives, or repositories that could have information and collections about your project
- Use historical language
- Keep it simple. Use broad keywords to find sources
When searching for primary source collections online, include the following additional phrases with your first key words:
- online collections
- digital collections
- digitized collections
- historical collections
Be aware that digital collections only show a small portion of what an institution holds!
- American Civil Liberties Union Papers This link opens in a new window
A view of the inner workings of the ACLU and the hundreds of groups with which the organization interacted. (Coverage 1912-1990)
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Traces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, gender research and gender studies research. (Coverage: 16th - 21st centuries)
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. (Coverage: 1704-1975)
- Colonial America This link opens in a new window
All volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK. Consists of original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies. (Coverage: 1606-1822)
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)
- Gender: Identity and Social Change This link opens in a new window
Primary source material drawn from across the U. S., Canada, U.K. and Australia. Documents 3 centuries of expansive developments in gender roles and relations. From traditional constructions of femininity and masculinity, to the struggle for women’s rights and the emergence of the men’s movement, this resource documents three centuries of expansive developments in gender roles and relations. (Coverage: 19th to 21st centuries)
- HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of full-text and video interviews with African-Americans distinguished in the fields of science, culture, politics, the arts, and public life.
- Medical Services and Warfare This link opens in a new window
From the Crimean War to the discovery of penicillin, Medical Services and Warfare gathers material from multiple conflicts to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. (Coverage: 1850-1949)
- Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900 This link opens in a new window
A collection of highly visual primary source material documenting the history of popular remedies and treatments in 19th c. America. Covers popular trends such as phrenology, herbal medicine, and hydrotherapy, and documents the rise of widespread advertising by commercial manufacturers of medical aids.
- Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 This link opens in a new window
Examines the history of public health and the policy debates that ensued in the delivery of services at the national, state and local levels during pivotal times in history. (Coverage: 1890-1970)
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Essential primary source material documenting key issues in race relations and civil rights during the 20th century. (Coverage: 1943-1970)
- Sex and Sexuality This link opens in a new window
Explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the 19th to 21st centuries. Includes the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
A research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
- Medicine and Madison Avenue: Duke University LibrariesAbout 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.