Research Guides: HIST382: History of Medicine: Secondary Sources

Locating Secondary Sources

Basic Search Tips

Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
- "trench warfare"
- "Iranian Coup"
Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR)
- narrative OR plot
- "American Involvement" AND World War I
Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
Visit our DELCAT Research Guide for additional tips!

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Also includes thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN, as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning. (Coverage: 1980 --)
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Provides indexing of academic journals dating back to 1954, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)
A large number of open access e-books are also available on Project MUSE. Search DELCAT to access these free e-books.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals related to nursing and allied health sciences. Also contains evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and a cited references search. (Coverage: 1937 --)
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature. Updated daily. (4 concurrent users).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free resource providing access to biomedical and life sciences literature. Contains millions of citations and abstracts, but does not include full-text articles. However, links to the full-text are often present from other sources, such UD subscribed titles, publisher websites, or PubMed Central. To access articles from UD subscribed titles you must be a UD student or staff member.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
A research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
Includes:
- Current and archival coverage of newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, wires, and trade journals.
- Company Investigator, an authoritative source for researching and gaining insight on more than 30 million public and private companies.
- Topical categories to refine searches and obtain more precise results.
- Expert analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, encyclopedias, and treatises.
- Full-text legislation, regulations, and court decisions.
- Integrated research tools, such as template searching, headnotes, case synopses, West Key Number System®, KeyCite®, and hypertext linking to related documents.