Secondary Sources
-
The Sound Studies Reader
by
Call Number: TK7881.4 .S684 2012ISBN: 9780415771306Publication Date: 2012-06-21The Sound Studies Reader blends recent work that self-consciously describes itself as 'sound studies' along with earlier and lesser-known scholarship on sound from across the humanities and social sciences. -
Keywords in Sound
by
Call Number: QC225.15 .K499 2015ISBN: 9780822359036Publication Date: 2015-05-12In twenty essays on subjects such as noise, acoustics, music, and silence, Keywords in Sound presents a definitive resource for sound studies, and a compelling argument for why studying sound matters. Each contributor details their keyword's intellectual history, outlines its role in cultural, social and political discourses, and suggests possibilities for further research. Keywords in Sound charts the philosophical debates and core problems in defining, classifying and conceptualizing sound, and sets new challenges for the development of sound studies. Contributors. Andrew Eisenberg, Veit Erlmann, Patrick Feaster, Steven Feld, Daniel Fisher, Stefan Helmreich, Charles Hirschkind, Deborah Kapchan, Mara Mills, John Mowitt, David Novak, Ana Maria Ochoa Gautier, Thomas Porcello, Tom Rice, Tara Rodgers, Matt Sakakeeny, David Samuels, Mark M. Smith, Benjamin Steege, Jonathan Sterne, Amanda Weidman -
Hearing History
by
Call Number: D16.116 .H43 2004ISBN: 9780820325828Publication Date: 2004-06-30Hearing History is a long-needed introduction to the basic tenets of what is variously termed historical acoustemology, auditory culture, or aural history. Gathering twenty-one of the field's most important writings, this volume will deepen and broaden our understanding of changing perceptions of sound and hearing and the ongoing education of our senses. The essays stimulate thinking on key questions: What is aural history? Why has vision tended to triumph over hearing in historical accounts? How might we begin to reclaim the sounds of the past? With theoretical and practical essays on the history of sound and hearing in Europe and the United States, the book draws on historical approaches ranging from empiricism to postmodernism. Some essays show the historian of technology at work, others highlight how military, social, intellectual, and cultural historians have tackled historical acoustemologies. Investigating soundscapes that include a Puritan meetinghouse in colonial New England, the belfries of a French village at the close of the Old Regime, the court hall of Elizabeth I, and a Civil War battlefield, the essays vary just as widely in their topics. -
The Auditory Culture Reader
by
Call Number: GN275 .A83 2003ISBN: 9781859736135Publication Date: 2004-04-17On Course Reserves. Go to Help Center to check out. -
The Oxford Handbook of Sound Studies
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195388947Publication Date: 2011-12-02Written by the world's leading scholars and researchers in the emerging field of sound studies, The Oxford Handbook of Sound Studies offers new and fully engaging perspectives on the significance of sound in its material and cultural forms. The book considers sounds and music as experienced in such diverse settings as shop floors, laboratories, clinics, design studios, homes, and clubs, across an impressively broad range of historical periods and national and cultural contexts. -
The Oxford Handbook of Mobile Music Studies, Volume 1
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195375725Publication Date: 2014-04-22The two volumes of The Oxford Handbook of Mobile Music Studies consolidate an area of scholarly inquiry that addresses how mechanical, electrical, and digital technologies and their corresponding economies of scale have rendered music and sound increasingly mobile-portable, fungible, and ubiquitous. At once a marketing term, a common mode of everyday-life performance, and an instigator of experimental aesthetics, "mobile music" opens up a space for studying the momentous transformations in the production, distribution, consumption, and experience of music and sound that took place between the late nineteenth and the early twenty-first centuries. -
-
The Oxford Handbook of Sound Art byPublication Date: 2021
-
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative resource for music research. Charts the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. Gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music.
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text for thousands of journals, covering all disciplines of business. (Coverage: Varies according to journal, some back to 1922.)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
-
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts for over 400 international music periodicals, plus full-text for over 200 journals. Scholarly and popular music journals included. (Coverage: c. 1996 - present. Retrospective indexing back to 1874.)
-
Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)
-
Readers Guide Index / Readers Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text of popular periodicals. (Coverage: Readers Guide Index, 1983 -- | Readers Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982)
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Bibliography on writings about music. Includes traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Sound recordings and films that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included. (Coverage: 1800s --)
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A reference and citation index comprised of several databases that can be searched as a whole or individually. Provides access to data from scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia. workshops, and conventions across the world. To search in a subset rather than all components at once, select a database and then select the desired index or indices in the “Editions” dropdown menu.
Browsing the stacks in Morris Library can be extremely helpful when you are looking for additional sources for your research. Most books related to history and music can be found on the 3rd floor of Morris Library and fall under the following Library of Congress classifications:
C, D History - General
E History - U.S. - General
M Music
ML 159 - 3785 - Music History
You can also "browse" the shelves virtually, by searching by Call Number through DELCAT.
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords...Especially when conducting historical research, you may need to develop words and phrases that were used during that particular time period, rather than modern-day words.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: World War I AND United States