HIST400: Listening to History

A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More

Presents multiple aspects of the African American community via primary source material focusing on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas. Focuses predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina

Interdisciplinary, cross-searchable collection of 3 databases that explore the history of American consumer culture. (Coverage: 1850-2000) 

Traces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)

Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Primary source material in the humanities, social sciences, engineering, history of science, law, economics, religion, psychology, government documents, visual arts, music, and the physical sciences. Detailed information about Eight Centuries Content is available. (Coverage: 1106-1960, varies by source)  

Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.

The Federal Writers' Project (FWP) was a federal government project in the U.S. created to provide jobs for out-of-work writers. Part of the Works Project Administration (WPA), an integral part of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt's "New Deal," the archive contains over 450 individual items covering music, theatre, art, and writers. (Coverage: 1935-1943)

Multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content. Allows users to analyze content from hundreds of producers and distributors from around the world. Contains multiple collections, genres, and subjects. See below for additional information.

Co-created by Quincy Jones and Reza Ackbaraly, this collection of 150 curated titles includes live performances covering the evolution of jazz, funk, soul, hip-hop, folk, indie, electronic, blues, and other eclectic world genres.

Full-text information from news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Though not required, you have the option to create a personal account that will give you access to special features such as alerts, saved searches, folders, history, annotations and more. 

This collection of 1,600+ streaming videos provides a range of documentaries and series from the Public Broadcasting Service.

Explores the dynamic period of social, political, and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. This period included the onset of Rock and Roll, the introduction of computers and credit cards, the boom of radio and television, and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.  Features an extensive, interactive chronology, covering significant events. (Coverage: 1950-1975)

Full-text access to select major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. newspapers, international newspaper and Black newspapers from the U.S. (Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries)

Perform a seamless search across all of the Readex digital collections available at the UD Library, or choose to combine only specific databases. By consolidating major digital collections and document types, Readex AllSearch enables users to make new and unexpected discoveries, whether on a desktop computer or any mobile device.

Primary source documents about landmark exhibits from 1843 to 1940. Content ranges from organizational and administrative records, postcards, books and watercolors from the exhibitions. (Coverage: 1843-1940)