Finding Primary Sources
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Documents the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th c. (Coverage: 1693-1877)
- American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Traces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)
- Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Materials consist of wire copy, including never-before published materials, bureau correspondence from within and beyond the U.S., personal papers from reporters and photographers, photos and video footage. (Coverage: Primarily 20th c.)
- Chatham House Online Archive This link opens in a new window
Publications, archives, and audio recordings of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), a world-leading, independent, and international affairs policy institute founded in 1920. (Coverage: 20th-21st centuries)
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 This link opens in a new window
The complete Confidential Print volumes of the British Colonial Office and Foreign Office for the Middle East - Iran, Turkey, Egypt, and Sudan. Part of the Archives Direct Portal, a suite of collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew, the official archive of the United Kingdom. (Coverage: 1839-1969)
- Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961 This link opens in a new window
Consists of the British government Confidential Print volumes of the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America. Includes topics such as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb. (Coverage: 1824-1961)
- Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Primary source material in the humanities, social sciences, engineering, history of science, law, economics, religion, psychology, government documents, visual arts, music, and the physical sciences. Detailed information about Eight Centuries Content is available. (Coverage: 1106-1960, varies by source)
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Archive of 20th Century news from around the world.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
An integrated platform that combines Gales digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface to enhance the ability to discover primary source documents from multiple collections. Over 50 collections are available to University of Delaware users on this platform. (Coverage: 1500 -)
- Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954 This link opens in a new window
A variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Offers insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population over 3 centuries. (Coverage: c1654-1954)
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
Set against a backdrop of colonial expansion, industrial progress and global conflict, this collection tells the stories of those who risked everything to build new lives in North America and Australasia between 1800 and 1980. Diaries, correspondence, photographs, oral histories and journals narrate the vivid realities of ocean travel and life in adopted homelands. Organisational correspondence, government proceedings, shipping company papers and records of advocacy groups provide context to migrants’ everyday struggles. (Coverage: 1800-1900)
- Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new window
Archival collections focused on political extremism and radical thought. A broad assortment of political movements from both far-right and radical left political groups are covered. (Coverage: 17662010s)
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922) (available via DELCAT)
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally, including the persecution of Jews in Romania and Russia, and the subsequent influx of Jewish immigrants to the U.S.. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
The American Hebrew (1879-1902)
- ADL: Center for Antisemitism ResearchADL is a leading anti-hate organization that was founded in 1913 in response to an escalating climate of anti-Semitism and bigotry.
- Institute for the Study of Contemporary AntisemitismThrough an active program of courses, lectures, conferences, and publications, the Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism aims to clarify what is new and what has been inherited from the antisemitic lexicons of the past.
- Simon Wiesenthal CenterThe Simon Wiesenthal Center is a global Jewish human rights activist organization that confronts anti-Semitism, hate and terrorism, stands with Israel, defends the safety of Jews worldwide, and teaches the lessons of the Holocaust for future generations.
- Institute for the Study of Global Antisemitism and PolicyThe Institute for the Study of Global Antisemitism and Policy (ISGAP) is dedicated to the scholarly study of the history, methods, and manifestations of antisemitism worldwide, as well as other forms of prejudice, as those relate to policy in a global context. ISGAP gathers and disseminates critical scholarly antisemitism studies to encourage inclusion in university education curricula and policy development.
- The Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of AntisemitismThe Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Anti-Semitism (SICSA) was established in 1982 as an interdisciplinary research center dedicated to an independent, non-political and critical approach to understanding the phenomenon of antisemitism. In more recent years, it has sought to leverage its proven expertise in order to create a unique space within academia for vibrant, intellectual discourse on antisemitism as a historical, political, and social issue — both in the past and the present — that affects human society, and Jews in particular. Accordingly, a priority of SICSA is to actively nurture and showcase the work of graduate students and postdoctoral candidates who want to pursue academic careers in antisemitism studies, while also providing a public forum where the many issues surrounding antisemitism can be aired and discussed in an intellectually intensive manner.
- Europeana CollectionsA collection focused on the history of Europe showing primary sources from seven European countries.
- National Library of IsraelThe National Library of Israel (NLI) in Jerusalem serves as the collective memory of the Jewish people worldwide and Israelis of all backgrounds and faiths. It is responsible for collecting, preserving, and making accessible the cultural and intellectual heritage of the Jewish people, the State of Israel, the Land of Israel, its people and region across the ages.