Finding Secondary Sources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books. Covers all major academic areas. An excellent place to start when learning the basics of any topic. Will help focus your topic, find keywords and people, and discover more in-depth books and articles. Images, audio and video files are included.
Antisemitic Myths by Call Number: DS145 .A633 2008ISBN: 9780253349842Publication Date: 2007-12-27The current revival of antisemitism in Europe and the demonization of Jews in parts of the Muslim world give special importance to the exposure of the myths and lies that for centuries led people to regard Jews as the dangerous ""other"" and that led to violence and persecution. This provocative anthology presents 90 documents that focus on the nature, evolution, and meaning of the principal myths that have made antisemitism such a lethal force in history: Jews as deicides, ritual murderers, agents of Satan, international conspirators, and conniving, unscrupulous Shylocks. Also included are documents illustrating the recent revival of classical myths about Jews among black nationalists, Holocaust deniers, and Islamic fundamentalists.
Antisemitism by Call Number: DS145 .B394 2015ISBN: 9780198724834Publication Date: 2015-12-01Antisemitism, as hatred of Jews and Judaism, has been a central problem of Western civilization for millennia, and its history continues to invite debate. This Very Short Introduction untangles the history of the phenomenon, from ancient religious conflict to "new" antisemitism in the 21st century. Steven Beller reveals how Antisemitism grew as a political and ideological movement in the 19th century, how it reached its dark apogee in the worst genocide in modern history - the Holocaust - and how Antisemitism still persists around the world today.In the new edition of this thought-provoking Very Short Introduction, Beller brings his examination of this complex and still controversial issue up to date with a discussion of Antisemitism in light of the 2008 financial crash, the Arab Spring, and the on-going crisis between Israel and Palestine. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Antisemitism : a historyISBN: 0191501107Publication Date: 2010An overview of the history and nature of antisemitism from earliest times to the present, from a team of leading international specialists in the field.
Dictionary of Antisemitism by Call Number: DS145 .M465 2007ISBN: 9780810858626Publication Date: 2007-01-04The term "antisemitism" was coined by Wilhelm Marr in 1879. Marr's secular, political racism existed inconsistently alongside his religious anti-Semitism. His self-proclaimed goal was "to free Christianity from the yoke of Judaism." While the term might not have existed before the 19th century, the persecution of the Jewish people dates back more than three thousand years. The Dictionary of Antisemitism is the first and only dictionary ever published that is dedicated solely to this subject. Spanning 3,000 years of antagonism to Jews, the dictionary details not only "the longest hatred," but also the most widespread, covering the five major continents. A comprehensive scholarly introduction discusses the definitions, causes, and varieties of antisemitism before the dictionary gets into the specifics. The dictionary section itself contains 2,500 entries, ranging from "Aaron of Lincoln" to "Zyklon." Entries can be found on all forms of antisemitism, such as ancient, medieval, and modern antisemitism; pagan, Christian, and Muslim antisemitism; and religious, economic, psychosocial, racial, cultural, and political antisemitism. This essential dictionary provides comprehensive coverage on this compelling subject, and as such, it will remain important for years to come.
The Paradox of Anti-Semitism by Call Number: DS145 .C5738x 2006ISBN: 9780826488961Publication Date: 2006-05-10Arguably as anti-Semitism has diminished, the Jewish community has lost its way in the unceasing quest for social and political acceptance. The surprising thesis of this book (especially from the pen of a Rabbi) is that in the past anti-Semitism has in fact been a positive force in Jewish life. As a pariah people, divided from the gentile world through prejudice and misunderstanding, Jewry has seen itself as a separate and alien community. Paradoxically it is anti-Semitism, which has ensured its survival rather than threatening its existence. The book begins with a study of the impact of the Enlightenment on modern Jewish life. Now as a result of social acceptance, the Jewish community throughout the English-speaking world is undergoing a transformation. Jews have ceased to be dedicated to the Jewish heritage and the Jewish community is in chaos. No longer is Judaism a unified tradition, providing a solid foundation for the Jewish people. The book points to a series of historical examples illustrating the author's thesis- ways in which antipathy to Jews and Judaism stimulated Jewish life and growth.
Why the Jews? by Call Number: DS145 .P484 2003ISBN: 9780743246200Publication Date: 2003-08-12From the bestselling authors of The Nine Questions People Ask About Judaism, a compelling discussion of the dangerous rise in antisemitism during the twenty-first century. The very word Jew continues to arouse passions as does no other religious, national, or political name. Why have Jews been the object of the most enduring and universal hatred in history? Why did Hitler consider murdering Jews more important than winning World War II? Why has the United Nations devoted more time to tiny Israel than to any other nation on earth? In this seminal study, Dennis Prager and Joseph Telushkin attempt to uncover and understand the roots of antisemitism--from the ancient world to the Holocaust to the current crisis in the Middle East. Why the Jews? offers new insights and unparalleled perspectives on some of the most recent, pressing developments in the contemporary world, including: -The replicating of Nazi antisemitism in the Arab world -The pervasive anti-Zionism/antisemitism on university campuses -The rise of antisemitism in Europe -Why the United States and Israel are linked in the minds of antisemites Clear, persuasive, and thought-provoking, Why the Jews? is must reading for anyone who seeks to understand the unique role of the Jews in human history.
Basic Search Tips
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR)
- "Tel Aviv" OR Jerusalem
- "Tel Aviv" AND Jerusalem
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
- "El Al"
- "Dead Sea"
- Use wildcards to display related terms
- Jewish immigra* to encompass Jewish immigration as well as Jewish immigrants (the asterisk will capture any number of letters)
- Jewish wom?n to capture Jewish woman or Jewish women (the question mark is a substitute for just one letter)
- Avoid using a wildcard in words within quotation marks. For example use Jewish immigra* and not "Jewish immigra*"
- Items not found at UD can be requested via InterLibrary Loan.
- Visit our Using DELCAT Research Guide for additional tips.
Finding Books in Morris Library
Browsing the stacks in Morris Library can be helpful when you are looking for print materials. Most books related to Jewish Studies fall under the following Library of Congress classifications:
BM 1-990 - Judaism
D720-728 Period between World Wars (1919-1939)
D731-838 World War II (1939-1945)
D804 contains a concentration of work on the Holocaust
DD History of Germany
PJ4501 - PJ5192 Jewish Literatures and Languages in English, Hebrew, etc.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from the American Anthropological Association, with links to backfile issues in JSTOR. (Coverage: varies by journal)
- Antisemitism Studies (journal)Antisemitism Studies provides the leading forum for new scholarship on the phenomenon of antisemitism and its anti-Judaic precursors. Multidisciplinary and international in scope, the journal publishes a variety of perspectives on the problem of antisemitism and its impact on society.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, mental health and related disciplines. (Coverage: 1806 --)
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. Subjects include world history, military history, womens history, history of education and more. Indexes 2,300+ academic journals in over 40 languages. (Coverage: 1952 --)
- Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Intended for students of Jewish thought and others interested in contemporary Jewish and Middle Eastern studies. Indexes many prominent journals covering Jewish culture, history, literature, religion, and other areas of related study. Most references within this database are not found in standard periodical literature guides. (Coverage: 1988 --)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information. Print and electronic journals in the social sciences are indexed with particular attention to articles that bear on public policy, administration and legislation. Business topics are covered, with emphasis on economic factors, industry surveys, business-societal interactions and similar issues, rather than details of business operations. (Coverage: 1915 --)
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)
- Race Relations Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to publications on race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
Tips for Searching for Articles
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords...Especially when conducting historical research, you may need to develop words and phrases that were used during that particular time period, rather than modern-day words.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: World War I AND United States
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!
Recommended Scholarship: Antisemitism
- Antisemitism: Recommended scholarshipList of recommended scholarship on the topic of antisemitism.