Finding Scholarly Articles
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of more than 8,000 journals covering all subject areas. Most of the journals are in full text, available in HTML and PDF formats. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a digital library of more than 2,000 journals and more than 25,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Included are peer-reviewed scholarly journals, literary journals, and academic monographs. JSTOR includes material in more than 75 disciplines including area studies, the arts, business and economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine and allied health, science and mathematics, and the social sciences.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world’s leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a citation and abstracting database covering over 21,500 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers across scientific, technical, medical, social sciences, and arts & humanities fields. Coverage includes Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering the world’s scholarly literature in history (United States and Canada). It includes article abstracts and bibliographical citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th c. Provides access to two separate collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL). (Coverage: 1741-2005)
- BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For material on the history of the life sciences. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. - Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Journals Database is a bibliography of approximately 250,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 400 medieval and Renaissance journal titles. The Books Database (under construction) is a bibliography of monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. - MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowCitations, abstracts, and some full-text articles in the mathematical literature.
- Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for important history of science journals such as Ambix, Annals of Science, Archives internationales d'histoire des sciences, British Journal for the History of Science, Isis, and Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society. - SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Particularly for material on the history of chemistry.
- ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 800 business and management journals. Some coverage of the history of technology, particularly as it relates to specific companies. - America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history (United States and Canada). It includes article abstracts and bibliographical citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the early 20th c. Provides access to two separate collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL). (Coverage: 1741-2005)
- Associated Press Images Collection - CANCELLED. ACCESS ENDS 1/1/2025. This link opens in a new windowVisual resources for the history of technology.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history (excluding the United States and Canada). It includes article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Journals Database is a bibliography of approximately 250,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 400 medieval and Renaissance journal titles. The Books Database (under construction) is a bibliography of monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. - Philosophers Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Particularly for the philosophy of science.
As the history of science and technology is interdisciplinary, articles may be sought in journals in these subject areas or in historical journals. Journals give you the ability to search for articles on a specific topic or event. It can be an easier way to find relevant information because you are usually not sifting through a large pool of results. If you visit the E-Journals page, you can bring up a list of all the journals with subject content in History & Archeology. You can also search for a specific journal title from the E-Journals page or in DELCAT.
Tips & Tricks for Searching for Articles
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords...Especially when conducting historical research, you may need to develop words and phrases that were used during that particular time period, rather than modern-day words.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: World War I AND United States
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!