Finding Secondary Sources
Browsing the stacks in Morris Library can be extremely helpful when you are looking for additional sources for your research. Most books related to this subject area can be found on the 3rd floor of Morris Library and fall under the following Library of Congress classifications:
HQ
HV
JK700s
You can also "browse" the shelves virtually, by searching by Call Number through DELCAT.
The library catalog uses specific language or "Subject Headings" to classify books. The phrases below are the most commonly used Subject Headings for this area of study:
-
Bisexuals
-
Gays
-
Gender identity
-
Gender nonconformity
-
Lesbians
-
Queer Theory
-
Transgender
Basic Search Tips
- Place quotation marks around keyword phrases
"trench warfare"
"Iranian Coup"
- Capitalize Boolean logic connectors (AND, OR).
narrative OR plot
"American Involvement" AND World War I
- Click either "View all formats and languages" or "View all editions" to view all library holdings for a particular title.
- Items at UD appear first in the list of search results. Other items can be requested via interlibrary loan.
Advanced Search Tips
- Type au:, su: or ti: before your keywords to specify author, subject or title words.
su:American Revolution
- A title search may identify items that have matching words in their chapter titles or contents lists.
- See Searching WorldCat: Index Quick Reference for other options.
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly literature covering the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
-
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
A resource for religious and theological studies. Provides bibliographic records for topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. (Coverage: 1949 --)
-
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many millions of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Artstor images incorporated into JSTOR as of 8/1/2024.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. (Coverage: 1952 --)
-
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for womens studies and feminist research. A valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations, humanities.
Tips & Tricks for Searching for Articles
Finding articles within databases and journals is not the same process you would use to conduct a search in Google or an internet search engine. You cannot type in a question, but rather need to choose specific keywords and phrases to find results. These tips are similar to how you would search for material in DELCAT.
Helpful Ways to Search:
- Use quotations around a phrase to "tell" the database or journal that you want these words to remain together.
- Ex: "American exceptionalism"
- Think of synonyms to your keywords...Especially when conducting historical research, you may need to develop words and phrases that were used during that particular time period, rather than modern-day words.
- Ex: World War I; First World War; The Great War - All would give you different results!
- Use AND/OR to connect words, concepts, and phrases together to receive specified results.
- Ex: World War I AND United States
Use the Advanced Search option in databases and journals to narrow down by date, region, type of document, and more!