HIST/WOMS156: American Sexualities

Amateur publications written, edited, and published primarily by young people aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century. (Coverage: 1801-1900)

Digitized American newspapers

Documents the life of Americas people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction and into the early 20th c. (Coverage: 1693-1877)

Traces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)

Comprehensive collections for research in American history. Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, and government documents printed in America over 3 centuries. (Coverage: 1639-1994)

Historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, gender research and gender studies research. (Coverage: 16th - 21st centuries)

Multidisciplinary resource providing topically focused digital collections from archives and institutional repositories around the world.

Focuses on the long nineteenth century, a period of rapid evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems. Derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. (Coverage: 1790-1920) 

Includes nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in North America during the 17th and 18th centuries. The definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th and 18th century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and many other topics. (Coverage: 1639-1800)

Showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries. (Coverage: c.1800-1920)

First published in 1830, Godey's quickly became the first successful American journal for women. This digitized and searchable database of the magazine allows full-text retrieval and includes hand-colored fashion plates and illustrations. (Coverage: 1830-1898)

Image-based government document and legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents and treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, and presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.

Historical resources from 18th and 19th century America. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. (Coverage: approximately 1726-1902) 

Spanning 4 centuries and covering North and Central America, this database provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.

Explore the political, social and cultural history of Native peoples from the 16th - 20th centuries. Covers American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. Sourced from American and Canadian institutions, newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, manuscripts, drawings and sketches, photographs, maps, periodicals, monographs and more. Includes indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. (Coverage: 1500-present)

A cross-section of newspapers covering political party newspapers at the beginning of the 19th c. to the large dailies that shaped the nation at the centurys end. Mammoth newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, womens rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other select groups. (Coverage: 1800-1900)

American and Canadian women’s diaries and correspondence, spanning more than 300 years. (Coverage: Colonial - 1950s)

Based on Joseph Sabins landmark bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world over 5 centuries. Sabin reaches into all aspects of American history and culture, and at times, South America and the Caribbean.(Coverage: 1500-1926)

Explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the 19th to 21st centuries. Includes the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.

Brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery today.

A thematically organized, four-part historical archive devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. 

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes document projects and archives, the online version of Notable American Women (1971-2004), the database on Commissions on the Status of Women (1961-2005), book reviews, teaching tools, and more.

Compare grassroots media with official records to explore political, social and welfare issues of the 1980s, such as the rise of conservatism, nuclear threat, and the AIDS crisis.The rich cultural production of the decade is also presented through a variety of source materials showcasing subcultures, alternative lifestyles,and consumer culture.

Amateur publications written, edited, and published primarily by young people aged 12-20, during the second half of the 19th century. (Coverage: 1801-1900)

Traces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)

Historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, gender research and gender studies research. (Coverage: 16th - 21st centuries)

Multidisciplinary resource providing topically focused digital collections from archives and institutional repositories around the world.

Focuses on the long nineteenth century, a period of rapid evolution for crime and its associated legal/penal systems. Derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. (Coverage: 1790-1920) 

Showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries. (Coverage: c.1800-1920)

Primary source material drawn from across the U. S., Canada, U.K. and Australia. Documents 3 centuries of expansive developments in gender roles and relations. From traditional constructions of femininity and masculinity, to the struggle for women’s rights and the emergence of the men’s movement, this resource documents three centuries of expansive developments in gender roles and relations. (Coverage: 19th to 21st centuries)

Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to womens and gender issues. (Coverage: mid-1970s --)

First published in 1830, Godey's quickly became the first successful American journal for women. This digitized and searchable database of the magazine allows full-text retrieval and includes hand-colored fashion plates and illustrations. (Coverage: 1830-1898)

Image-based government document and legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents and treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, and presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.

Historical resources from 18th and 19th century America. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. (Coverage: approximately 1726-1902) 

Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines. (Coverage: 20th century, primarily 1960s to the 1980s)

American and Canadian women’s diaries and correspondence, spanning more than 300 years. (Coverage: Colonial - 1950s)

Archival collections focused on political extremism and radical thought. A broad assortment of political movements from both far-right and radical left political groups are covered. (Coverage: 17662010s)

Explores the dynamic period of social, political, and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. This period included the onset of Rock and Roll, the introduction of computers and credit cards, the boom of radio and television, and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.  Features an extensive, interactive chronology, covering significant events. (Coverage: 1950-1975)

Full-text access to select major U.S. newspapers, regional U.S. newspapers, international newspaper and Black newspapers from the U.S. (Coverage: 19th and 20th centuries)

Explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the 19th to 21st centuries. Includes the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes document projects and archives, the online version of Notable American Women (1971-2004), the database on Commissions on the Status of Women (1961-2005), book reviews, teaching tools, and more.

A multidisciplinary collection of tens of thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music. More

Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines. (Coverage: 20th century, primarily 1960s to the 1980s)