Human Rights

Contains thousdand of law-related journals on a variety of subjects, all dating back to inception with over 90% available through the current issue or volume. Subject related collections are often curated and made available.

Approximately half of the items in the HSDL are openly searchable and available to the public, with no account or authorization necessary.  This public collection includes items such as:

• U.S. Policy and Strategy Documents related to homeland security: General U.S. Policy Documents, National Strategies, Executive Orders and Presidential Directives, and Key Legislation
• Congressional Hearings and Legislation
• CRS Reports & Issue Briefs
• GAO Reports & Testimony
• Theses & Research Reports from U.S. federal academic institutions, particularly the Naval Postgraduate School
• Research Tools such as grants, statistics, and books and journals (the HSDL does not collect commercially published and print materials, we do maintain a list of publishers and sources)
• Thousands of additional resources released by U.S. federal government agencies and organizations
  
   

CIAO is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journals (i.e., abstracts of journal articles), books, policy briefs, economic indicators, links and resources, schedule of events, and maps and country data.

Contains a significant body of archival material dating back to the mid-1970s. Additional archival material continues to be added.

Can also be searched as part Social Services Abstracts.

Provides indexing and abstracts for essential sources including: journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature.

The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals. 
 

Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:

• African American/Caribbean/African
• Arab/Middle Eastern
• Asian/Pacific Islander
• European/Eastern European
• Hispanic
• Jewish
• Native People
  
  
   

New Subscribers: (have never had a personal or UDel account)

To create your new, free account, use this link:  www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access.

Existing New York Times Online Subscribers

Note: If you have an existing, paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before you can activate the free UD Library provided subscription. You may cancel by emailing customercare@nytimes.com, connecting with a chat agent on the site, or calling 800-591-9233.

After cancelling your existing account:

• Go to www.accessnyt.com.
• Find your school name by selecting “University of Delaware” from the dropdown menu.
• Click “Already have an account? Log in here.”
• Input your udel.edu email address and the same password you created for your previous account.
• Select your status as “student” (enter your graduation date) or “faculty/staff.”
• Click “Continue” and you will be directed to www.nytimes.com.

Tips and Troubleshooting:

• Students will have access until they graduate.
• Faculty and staff must renew once every four years. Add your expiration date to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.
• If you find that you no longer have access, it is most likely because your account has expired.
• After expiration, activate a new pass by visiting NYTimes.com/GroupPass.
• You may reset your NYT password any time here: nytimes.com/forgot

Full-text journals available for searching from commencement year to present:

• American Spectator (1967 -)
• Americas Quarterly (2007 -)
• Commentary (1945 -)
• Commonweal (1924 -)
• Dissent (1954 -)
• Harpers Magazine (1850 -)
• LaFollette's Magazine (1909 -)
• Moment (1975 -)
• The Nation ( 1865 -)
• The National Review (1955 -)
• The New Leader (1924 -) 
• The New Republic (1914 -)
• New York Review of Books (1963 -)
• The New Yorker (1925 -)
• Orion Magazine (1982 -)
• The Progressive (1909 -)
• Washington Examiner (2013 -) 
• Washington Monthly (1969 -)
• The Weekly Standard (1995 -)

Registration Instructions

*If you already have a personal membership to the WSJ, call 1-800-JOURNAL and to inform the WSJ that you are switching to the membership provided by the University of Delaware.*

• Step 1:   Click on this link:  http://wsj.com/udel. You will be prompted to login to the UD Central Authentication Service (CAS)
• Step 2:  Fill out the form, then click Create. When you have completed the form and clicked Create. You will see “Redemption Successful.”
• Step 3:  Check your email inbox for a confirmation receipt. 
• Step 4: You are now a registered user of The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition. Access it anytime, anywhere at https://www.wsj.com/ by signing in with your email address and password.  

Select earlier content is accessible, particularly investigative journalism content related to U.S. President Richard Nixon and Watergate dating back to 1968. Search features do not enable limiting to specific date ranges, so the extent of this content is unknown.

Washington Post articles and indexing are also available from:

• 1877 to 17 years ago in ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post
• 01/01/2008 to present in ProQuest Recent Newspapers:  Washington Post

Daily updates were discontinued after December 31, 2013, but researchers can still access the Archive, which contains over 1 million foreign newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from Beijing, Beirut, Bogota, Cairo, Jakarta, Iraq, Mogadishu, Qatar, Ramallah, Sarajevo, Vienna, and hundreds of other locations around the world.

PolicyMap includes both publicly-available and proprietary data. Refer to the detailed Data Directory for sources, years of data available, and geographic coverage.

A PolicyMap Tutorial is available.