Legal Resources
- HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Image-based government document and legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents and treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, and presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThis database consists of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Currently available are the complete digitized backfiles of over 1000 scholarly journals, organized in various “collections”. The “law collection” provides high-quality journals that serve researchers and students in fields that rely on law journals to support their research.
- LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFaculty and students can use LexisNexis Academic to find both primary and secondary legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes. Federal court decisions include: U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Appellate Courts and U.S. District Courts from their inception plus specialty courts such as U.S. Bankruptcy and U.S. Tax Courts. State court decisions, court rules, and attorneys general opinions from all 50 states and territories are also included. This database also provides access to state codes and constitutions as well as federal regulations, including Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations. LexisNexis Academic also provides Shepard’s® Citations Service.
- Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Campus Research is a research service that combines a breadth of news and business information with in depth law-related information.
- Westlaw Patron Access This link opens in a new windowWestlaw Patron Access provides access to primary materials from both federal and state courts. Information includes cases, statutes, regulations, briefs, dockets, legal forms, secondary sources, KeyCite, Litigation Analytics and more. Only 5 concurrent users are allowed at a time.
Federal:
- The Oyez Project - United States Supreme Court MediaThe Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since October 1955.
Independent Websites:
- Justia : A Comprehensive SourceJustia's mission is to advance the availability of legal resources for the benefit of society. They are focused on making primary legal materials and community resources free and easy to find on the Internet. The site provides access to free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twitterer databases, as well as additional community resources. Justia works with educational, public interest and other socially focused organizations to bring legal and consumer information to the online community.
- FindLawOne of the best sources for beginning legal research. Full text law reviews, Supreme Court opinions, federal case law, state court opinions, foreign and international resources, legal forms, and more are available via FindLaw.
- Legal Information InstituteThis site is maintained by a group of scholars who believe everyone should be able to read and understand the laws that govern them. The sties includes recent and historic Supreme Court decisions, access to online versions of the U.S. Code, the CFR, and Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.