Related Guides
From Off Campus
Most Library online resources can be accessed from off campus by current UD faculty, staff, and students. When using links on these pages, you may be prompted for your UDelNetID and password. Please report any issues you encounter while accessing Library databases, e-journals, or e-books.
Librarian
Reference & Instructional Services Dept.
University of Delaware Library
(302) 831-0790
Send email
RefWorks
Suggested Databases
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics, including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Search tips:
- Enter your search terms on the advanced search screen to allow for maximum control of your search.
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to keep adjacent to one another such as "second language acquisition."
- Combine your search terms with the connectors "and," "or," and "not."
- The advanced search screen allows you make specifications such as requiring that your search terms appear in the title of the document or the abstract of the article.
- In most cases, the advanced search screen also allows you to select whether or not the search results must be scholarly or peer-reviewed and if the results must be published within a specific date range.
In the search below, the database will show results in which the words "second language acquisition" are adjacent to one another and either the word study or the word pedagogy appear in the article. The search terms must also appear in the abstract of each article, and the articles must be peer reviewed and be published after January 1, 2015.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals in communication, mass media, and other closely related fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 570 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more. Also includes full text for over 450 journals. (Coverage: 1915 --)
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides access to a vast array of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Search tips:
- Enter your search terms on the advanced search screen to allow for maximum control of your search.
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to keep adjacent to one another such as "second language acquisition."
- Combine your search terms with the connectors "and," "or," and "not."
- The advanced search screen allows you make specifications such as requiring that your search terms appear in the title of the document or the abstract of the article.
- In most cases, the advanced search screen also allows you to select whether or not the search results must be scholarly or peer-reviewed and if the results must be published within a specific date range.
In the search below, Communication and Mass Media Complete will show results where the phrase "second language acquisition" and the word "fluency" appear in the abstract of the article. Requiring the search terms to appear in the abstract is a great way to reduce the number of search results to a more manageable number while seeing only the most relevant search results.
- ERIC [EBSCOhost] This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles in education journals and documents. Full-text available via GetIt! for UD Library subscribed titles. Also contains resources on training and development; library and information science. (Coverage: 1966 --)
ERIC contains references with summaries from education journals and documents (i.e., books, pamphlets, conference reports, symposia, studies, tests, etc.).
Search tips:
- Enter your search terms on the advanced search screen to allow for maximum control of your search.
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to keep adjacent to one another such as "second language acquisition."
- Combine your search terms with the connectors "and," "or," and "not."
- The advanced search screen allows you make specifications such as requiring that your search terms appear in the title of the document or the abstract of the article.
- In most cases, the advanced search screen also allows you to select whether or not the search results must be scholarly or peer-reviewed and if the results must be published within a specific date range.
IN THE SEARCH BELOW..........................
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that can be searched individually or in various combinations. WoS indexs the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, as published in journals, conference proceedings, symposia, seminars, colloquia, and workshops across the globe.
Web of Science connects research across the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities from journals, books and conference proceedings.
Search tips:
- Enter your search terms on the advanced search screen to allow for maximum control of your search.
- Put quotation marks around words that you want to keep adjacent to one another such as "second language acquisition."
- Combine your search terms with the connectors "and," "or," and "not."
- The advanced search screen allows you make specifications such as requiring that your search terms appear in the title of the document or the abstract of the article.
- In most cases, the advanced search screen also allows you to select whether or not the search results must be scholarly or peer-reviewed and if the results must be published within a specific date range.
IN THE SEARCHES BELOW...................
Linguistics E-Journals
To search exclusively in a particular journal, use the direct links to our e-Journals. Additional journals are available in print format and can be accessed in DELCAT Discovery, the library catalog.