Search Our Journal List
- Find e-journals by title or ISSN
-
Browse e-journals by titleSearch by DOI
Databases
The following book can be used for finding articles on the history of mathematics:
May, Kenneth O.(1973) Bibliography and research manual of the history of mathematics. Toronto: University of Toronto Press,
The following databases are useful for finding articles on the history of mathematics, but this list is not comprehensive. For a complete list of library databases, see Databases and Indexes to Articles. If you want to know if the library has a specific journal title, check Electronic Journals database.
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering the world’s mathematical literature. (Coverage: 1940 -)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text journals in which the latest issues are at least 3 to 5 years old, but the holdings often extend back many years. The journals may be searched separately or by discipline.
- Project MUSE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text, scholarly, electronic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. (Coverage: 1993 or later to the present)
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation and abstracting database covering thousands of active titles, primarily peer-reviewed journals. Also includes eBooks, major reference works and graduate level textbooks. Emphasis on social sciences, arts and humanities, but also includes science, technology and medicine. Includes thousands of Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, book series, and patents. (Coverage: Primarily 1970-present. Some pre-1970 records going back to 1788)
Google Scholar
How to search for an article/paper published in a journal
All the journal articles/papers referenced in the "Additional References for those choosing this topic for their term paper" section are found at the bottom of the weekly lectures page in Canvas for the course are published in the journals shown on this page: History of Math Journals, or History of Science Journals, etc. To find the article, you must search for it in DELCAT. This quick guide shows how to do this:
History of Mathematics Journals
- British Journal for the History of Mathematics
ISSN: 2637-5451
British Journal for the History of Mathematics is a peer-reviewed international journal in the history of mathematics. It is the Official Journal of the British Society for the History of Mathematics (BSHM), whose aims are to promote research into the history of mathematics and to encourage its use at all levels of mathematics education. - Historia Mathematica
ISSN 0315-0860
The most prominent history of math journal, which, in addition to research articles, publishes book reviews and abstracts of recent publications. - MAA Convergence
ISSN: 2998-4793
Convergence: Where Mathematics, History, and Teaching Interact, is the MAA's free online journal about the history of mathematics and its use in teaching. Aimed at teachers of mathematics at both the secondary and collegiate levels, Convergence includes topics from grades 8-16 mathematics, with special emphasis on topics from grades 8-14: algebra, combinatorics, synthetic and analytic geometry, trigonometry, probability and statistics, elementary functions, calculus, differential equations, and linear algebra. - Philosophia mathematica
ISSN: 0031-8019
Philosophia Mathematica is the leading journal devoted specifically to philosophy of mathematics. The journal publishes peer-reviewed new work in philosophy of mathematics, the application of mathematics, and computing.
History of Science Journals
- Annals of science
ISSN: 0003-3790
Publishes work on the history of science, technology and medicine, covering developments from classical antiquity to the late 20th century. - Archive for history of exact sciences
ISSN: 0003-9519
Often includes articles on the history of mathematics, mostly focused on the internal development of mathematical ideas. - British journal for the history of science
ISSN: 0007-0874
Published for The British Society for the History of Science. This leading international journal publishes scholarly papers and review articles on all aspects of the history of science. A substantial book review section is a central feature. - Centaurus
ISSN: 0008-8994
Centaurus is an international English language journal of the history of science and its cultural aspects. The journal was started in 1950 and has remained one of the major journals devoted to the study of the history of science. Centaurus is the official journal of the European Society for the History of Science. - History of Science
ISSN: 0073-2753
History of Science publishes analytically oriented articles that combine original research and critical engagement with up-to-date secondary literature in the history of science, technology and medicine. The journal also publishes articles that focus on relevant historiographical issues and matters related to teaching the history of science, technology and medicine. - Isis
ISSN: 0021-1753
Isis features scholarly articles, research notes and commentary on the history of science, medicine, and technology, and their cultural influences. Review essays and book reviews on new publications in the field are also included. An official publication of the History of Science Society, this is the oldest (and most widely circulating) English-language journal in the field.
Mathematics Journals
- American mathematical monthly
ISSN: 0002-9890
The American Mathematical Monthly publishes articles, notes, and other features about mathematics and the profession. Its readers span a broad spectrum of mathematical interests and abilities. - Annals of MathematicsISSN: 1939-8980
The Annals of Mathematics is published bimonthly by the Department of Mathematics of Princeton University with the cooperation of the Institute for Advanced Study. Founded in 1884 by Ormond Stone of the University of Virginia, the journal was transferred in 1899 to Harvard University, and in 1911 to Princeton University. Since 1933, the Annals has been edited jointly by Princeton University and the Institute for Advanced Study. - Mathematics Magazine
ISSN : 1930-0980
Mathematics Magazine, published by MAA, publishes international research on mathematics, including historical content and connections between mathematics and other disciplines.
Mathematics Educational Journals
- The College mathematics journal
ISSN: 0746-8342
The College Mathematics Journal is designed to enhance classroom learning and stimulate thinking regarding undergraduate mathematics. It publishes articles, short Classroom Capsules, problems, solutions, media reviews, and other pieces. All are aimed at the college mathematics curriculum with emphasis on topics taught in the first two years. - Mathematics teacher
ISSN: 0025-5769
An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics, is devoted to improving mathematics instruction from grade 8-14 and supporting teacher education programs. - Journal for research in mathematics education
ISSN: 0021-8251
An official journal of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), JRME is the premier research journal in mathematics education and is devoted to the interests of teachers and researchers at all levels--preschool through college.
A variety of scholarly journal articles from various publishers
(1995). Mathematical Study and Intellectual Transition in the Early and Mid-Qing. Late Imperial China. 16 (2):2-61.
Grattan-Guinness, I. (2004). The mathematics of the past: distinguishing its history from our heritage. Historia Mathematica. 31 (2):163-18.
Kvasz, Ladislav. (2000). Changes of Language in the Development of Mathematics. Philosophia Mathematica. 8: 47 - 83.
Neugebauer, Otto and G. Waldo Dunnington. (1936). The History of Mathematics. National Mathematics Magazine. 11 (1):17-2.
Olson, Mark A. (1988). Descartes' First Meditation: Mathematics and the Laws of Logic. Journal of the History of Philosophy. 26 (3): 407-438.
Onians, John. (1989). War, Mathematics, and Art in Ancient Greece. History of the Human Sciences. 2 (1): 39-62.
. (1988). The Art of Algebra from al-Kwãrizmi to Viète: A Study in the Natural Selection of Ideas. History of Science, 2 (:2-72): 129-16.
S. T. S.. (1933). Historic Contests in Mathematics. Mathematics News Letter. 8 (3). 49-50.
Zitarelli, David E. (2001). Towering Figures in American Mathematics, 1890-195. The American Mathematical Monthly. 108 (7): 606-635.