Research Guides: Medical & Molecular Sciences: M&MS Databases

Using Databases

A library database is an electronic catalog or index used to locate articles and other research material. Some databases provide access to only abstracts (summaries of articles) and others will provide full text of the actual article.

Databases

Use these databases to locate articles and other resources relevant for Medical & Molecular Sciences topics.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of 6 databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Databases:

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Cochrane Methodology Register
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects
Health Technology Assessment Database
NHS Economic Evaluation Database

PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s search service to access the 9 million citations in MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE and other related databases.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of Elsevier journals in chemistry and chemical engineering; clinical medicine; computer science; earth and planetary sciences; economics, business, and management science; engineering; energy; environmental science and technology; life sciences; materials science; mathematics; physics and astronomy; social sciences. Provides indexing and abstracts for e-journals from other publishers.
Start-up costs for the ScienceDirect database were made available through the support of the late Judge Hugh M. Morris and the Judge Hugh M. Morris Family. The organic chemistry and inorganic chemistry backfiles are made available through a grant from the Unidel Foundation.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science interface provides online access to the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Databases. These databases are:

Science Citation Index Expanded (1900- )
Social Sciences Citation Index (1956- )
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975- )
Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Springer Protocols provides access to 30 years (1980-2010) of scientific protocols, which are step-by-step procedures that enable researchers to reproduce laboratory experiments.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains citations and abstracts to articles appearing in approximately 9,000 periodicals dealing with life science. It covers literature from 1990-present and is updated quarterly.
A subset database within Web of Science.
Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biological Sciences Set is an interdisciplinary database which offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
Includes specialized, editorially-curated AandI resources providing access to an extensive variety of cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.
Primal Pictures This link opens in a new window
“The world’s most detailed 3D model of human anatomy online.” Primal Pictures features three-dimensional animations that illustrate function, biomechanics, and surgical procedures. Clinical videos and textual descriptions by leading specialists supplement the animations and models. Interactive learning modules covering basic human anatomy focus on one or more areas of the body, from a generalist’s or specialist’s perspective. Images are not mere drawings but are derived from real medic

Search Google Scholar

Search engine specifically for scholarly journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports.