MLSC365: Military History Studies

Digitized American newspapers

Diaries, letters, and memoirs from over 2,000 authors, written before, during, and after the American Civil War. (Coverage: ranges from contemporary letters and diaries to those published many years after the Civil War).

Traces the progress of American History. Covers the major themes of the period from colonization and settlement through the revolution, expansion, politics, slavery, the Civil War and reconstruction, to World War II. (Coverage: 1493-1945)

Original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps and ephemeral material from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library in Chicago. Allows scholars to explore the fact and fiction of westward expansion in America through tales of frontier life, Indigenous Peoples, vigilantes and outlaws. (Coverage: early 18th c. - mid-20th c.)

Current and historical Associated Press photographs, graphics, and text materials.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. (Coverage: 1704-1975)

Monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Consists of the British government Confidential Print volumes of the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America. Includes topics such as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb. (Coverage: 1824-1961)

Showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries. (Coverage: c.1800-1920)

Archive of 20th Century news from around the world.

Recent global news content, as well as archives. Content from newspapers, newswires and news sites in full-text format. Provides large collections of news from the U.S., Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America and Australia. (Coverage: 1980 --)

Image-based government document and legal research database. Extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, congressional documents and treaties. Also includes all of the world’s constitutions, collections of classic treatises, and presidential documents. Coverage of U.S. goverrnment publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the U.S. Government Publishing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.

Partial Open Access. Collection of documents, audio and visual resources, and analyses related to homeland security policy and strategy. Supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs, and assists academics of all disciplines in research relating to homeland defense and security. Provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents, as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

Digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines. (Coverage: 20th century, primarily 1960s to the 1980s)

Spanning 4 centuries and covering North and Central America, this database provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world.

Explore the political, social and cultural history of Native peoples from the 16th - 20th centuries. Covers American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. Sourced from American and Canadian institutions, newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, manuscripts, drawings and sketches, photographs, maps, periodicals, monographs and more. Includes indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. (Coverage: 1500-present)

A digital library of primary sources on American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Originally a collaborative project between Cornell University and the University of Michigan, each institution focused on different aspects of this period based on what each already had in its collections. Each collection is accessed separately. The Cornell Collection is available at Hathi Trust and the Michigan Collection is available on the U-M Library Digital Collections site. (Coverage: 1840-1900) 

From the Crimean War to the discovery of penicillin, Medical Services and Warfare gathers material from multiple conflicts to build a picture of the experience and development of medical practice as influenced by the wars of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. (Coverage: 1850-1949)

These files allow scholars and researchers to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon’s handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration’s notable achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation. (Coverage: 1969-1974)

American and Canadian women’s diaries and correspondence, spanning more than 300 years. (Coverage: Colonial - 1950s)

Complete runs of the leading journals of opinion. (Coverage varies by title)

25 concurrent users. Full pages and article images with searchable full-text back to the first issue. includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.  (Coverage: 1851-4 years ago) 

Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the U.S., Canada, New Zealand, India and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East. Allied and Axis publications are presented, offering a broad view of the war and the experiences of those on its front lines. (Coverage: 1939-1948)

Declassified U.S. documents from the executive branch, including presidential libraries, Dept. of State, Dept. of Defense, CIA, FBI, Joint Chiefs of Staff and other executive agencies. (Coverage: 20th-21st c.)